Overview of access to information requests

Legal Aid Ontario (“LAO”) grants access to information requests according to the Legal Aid Services Act (“LASA”) and the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (“FIPPA”). LAO goes to great lengths to grant access to requesters while complying with its duties under FIPPA and LAO's governing legislation.

LAO was established in 1998 under LASA. From 1999 to September 2014, LAO received 213 requests for access to information. Approximately 35% of those requests were for access to a client's own personal information of which 78% were granted and 15% were partially granted. Furthermore, about 33% of all requests for access to information received during that time period were requests by either third parties or by clients for third party information. Of those requests, about 24% were granted and approximately 17% were partially granted. Last, approximately 32% of all requests for access to information received from 1999 to September 2014 were for access to general information about LAO of which approximately 63% were granted, and nearly 18% were partially granted.

LAO is committed to transparency and public access to information within the limits of its governing legislation. In that spirit, in cases where LAO does not have any records responsive to the request, LAO endeavours to provide other relevant information to the requester that may be of assistance when it is possible to do so. In addition, beginning in April 2013 LAO made it its general practice to not charge clients an application fee for requests for personal information pertaining to their own records. Prior to April 2013, LAO would grant a client's request for a waiver for the application fee if the client had so requested and the request was for their own records.

LAO has published the decision letters for the requests for third party information and requests by third parties, and requests for general records. See: Proactive disclosure. In order to comply with our obligations under FIPPA and LASA, the necessary redactions have been made to these materials. The decision letters to requests for a client's own personal information have not been posted.

Demandes d’accès à l’information : aperçu

Aide juridique Ontario (« AJO ») traite les demandes d’accès à l’information en application de la Loi sur les services d’aide juridique (« LSAJ ») et de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée (« LAIPVP »). AJO fait tout ce qui est en son pouvoir pour traiter les demandes des requérants tout en respectant ses obligations envers la LAIPVP et la loi qui régit AJO.

AJO a été créée en 1998 aux termes de la Loi de 1998 sur les services d’aide juridique. Entre 1999 et septembre 2014, AJO a reçu 213 demandes d’accès à l’information. Environ 35 % de ces demandes concernaient des demandes d’accès à l’information effectuées par client au sujet de ses propres données parmi lesquelles 78 % ont été traitées et 15 % partiellement traitées. En outre, environ 33 % de toutes les demandes d’accès à l’information reçues durant cette période concernaient des demandes de renseignements de la part d’une tierce partie ou de la part de clients au sujet de données d’une tierce partie. Parmi ces demandes, environ 24 % ont été traitées et près de 17 % ont été partiellement traitées. Finalement environ 32 % de toutes les demandes d’accès à l’information reçues de 1999 à septembre 2014 concernaient des demandes d’accès à l’information au sujet d’AJO parmi lesquelles près de 63 % ont été traitées et environ 18 % partiellement traitées.

AJO s'engage à faire preuve de transparence et à rendre des comptes en vue du partage de l’information dans les limites établies par la loi qui la régit. À cet égard, dans les cas où AJO ne dispose pas des données correspondant à la demande, lorsqu’elle le peut, AJO s'efforce de fournir d’autres renseignements pertinents qui pourraient être utiles au requérant. De plus, depuis avril 2013, AJO a adopté la pratique consistant à ne pas facturer le requérant pour les demandes d’accès à l’information qui concernent ses propres dossiers. Avant avril 2013, AJO n’accordait la gratuité des frais que si le client en faisait la demande expresse et que si la demande d’accès à l’information concernait son propre dossier.

AJO a publié les lettres en réponse à des demandes au sujet des données relatives à une tierce partie, et celles des demandes effectuées par une tierce partie et les demandes relatives aux informations générales. Voir : Divulgation proactive. Pour respecter ses obligations envers la LAIPVP et la LSAJ, AJO a caviardé certains passages de certains documents. Les lettres en réponse à des demandes de renseignements effectuées par les clients au sujet de leurs propres données n’ont pas été publiées.