Publications & Resources

Proactive Disclosure

Publications & Reources

Clinic refugee service agreements


As part of LAOs transformation of its refugee services program, LAO entered into service agreements with the Centre Francophone de Toronto, Rexdale Community Legal Clinic, and Vanier Community Centre in Ottawa. All three clinics will provide legal aid services to refugees who do not have lawyers, as part of a one-year pilot agreement with Legal Aid Ontario.

This innovative community-based initiative is an important milestone in LAOs efforts to diversify its refugee services model, support community-based client services and deliver cost-effective, efficient, quality legal representation.

Le Centre Francophone de Toronto and the Vanier Community Centre Ottawa are hubs for providing French-language services, including health, employment, settlement, housing and cultural services, services critical to successful integration of refugees. Both clinics will serve French-speaking refugee claimants from countries such as Burundi, Rwanda, and the Congo Republic.

Rexdale Community Legal Clinic, part of the Rexdale Community Hub, will provide supervised licensed paralegal services for refugee claimants (primarily from Nigeria, Somalia and Pakistan) living within its catchment area. The Rexdale hub also provides health, social, legal, employment and cultural services.

All three clinics will:

  • prepare Basis of Claim (BoC) forms and file them with the Refugee Protection Division (RPD) of the Immigration and Refugee Board
  • prepare for and represent claimants at hearings of the RPD until the decision has been rendered

These three pilots will be evaluated to ensure they enhance client services to this vulnerable group, deliver quality refugee representation and value for taxpayers.


Contracts


Centre Francophone de Toronto service agreement
Date: June 24, 2013

Rexdale Community Legal Clinic service agreement
Date: June 24, 2013

Vanier Community Service Centre service contract
Date: August 1, 2013

Publications et documents d'information

Divulgation proactive

Publications et documents d'information

Entente avec les cliniques concernant la prestation des services aux réfugiés


Dans le cadre de la transformation de son programme de services aux réfugiés, Aide juridique Ontario (AJO) a conclu une entente concernant la prestation des services avec le Centre francophone de Toronto, la Rexdale Community Legal Clinic et le Centre des services communautaires Vanier à Ottawa. Les trois cliniques fourniront des services d'aide juridique aux réfugiés qui n'ont pas d'avocat, dans le cadre d'un projet pilote d'un an.

Cette initiative communautaire innovante est une étape importante de la démarche d'AJO pour diversifier son modèle de services aux réfugiés, appuyer la prestation des services offerts par les organismes communautaires et fournir une représentation juridique de qualité, efficiente et efficace par rapport aux coûts.

Le Centre francophone de Toronto et le Centre des services communautaires Vanier sont des carrefours de services en français essentiels à l'intégration des réfugiés, notamment des services de santé, d'aide à l'emploi, d'établissement et de logement ainsi que des services culturels. Les deux cliniques procureront des services aux réfugiés francophones des pays comme le Burundi, le Rwanda et la République du Congo.

La Rexdale Community Legal Clinic, qui fait partie du Carrefour communautaire Rexdale, fournira les services de parajuristes autorisés travaillant sous supervision aux demandeurs d'asile (provenant principalement du Niger, de la Somalie et du Pakistan) qui habitent dans le territoire desservi par la clinique. Le Carrefour communautaire Rexdale fournit également des services de santé et d'aide à l'emploi ainsi que des services culturels.

Les trois cliniques offriront les services suivants :

  • Préparation du formulaire Fondement de la demande d'asile (FDA) et son dépôt à la Section de la protection des réfugiés (SPR) de la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié;
  • Préparation à l'audience et représentation des demandeurs d'asile à l'audience devant la SPR jusqu'à ce que la décision soit rendue.

Ces trois projets pilotes seront évalués pour s'assurer qu'ils améliorent les services à ce groupe de clients vulnérables, fournissent une représentation de qualité aux réfugiés et font utilisation optimale de l'argent des contribuables.


Ententes


(en anglais)

Entente de services avec le Centre Francophone de Toronto
27 juin 2013

Entente de services avec la Rexdale Community Legal Clinic
24 juin 2013

Entente de services avec le Centre des services communautaires Vanier
1er août 2013