Publications & Resources

Archive: Discretion Consultation (May 2012)

Publications & Reources

Discretion Consultation


Discretion is a compensation tool that allows Legal Aid Ontario to approve, in exceptional circumstances, lawyers written requests for additional compensation above the hourly tariff rate. Lawyers who represent vulnerable clients, manage complex cases or achieve extraordinary outcomes can apply to Legal Aid Ontario (LAO) in writing for discretion pay.

Between May 7 and May 25, 2012, Legal Aid Ontario will be reaching out to criminal, family and refugee lawyers in communities across the province for their feedback on proposed guidelines to improve the discretion request process.

The feedback from these consultations will help LAO develop guidelines that make the discretion request process clearer for lawyers while ensuring fair and effective stewardship of public funds in providing legal services to legal aid clients.


Participate in person/by video conference


LAO is holding in-person and video conference consultation sessions for criminal, family and refugee law from May 7 to 25. If you are interested in participating, register online.


Consult online


If you are unable to attend a consultation session in person or by video conference, you can view the discretion presentation on Legal Aid Ontarios website and provide feedback electronically. All videos are open-captioned.


Question and answers


Find answers to some common questions about Legal Aid Ontarios discretion consultations and the discretion process in the Q&A section. Questions that are not listed can be submitted to Legal Aid Ontario online.

Publications et documents d'information

Archives
Consultation sur les augmentations discrétionnaires (Mai 2012)

Publications et documents d'information

Consultation sur les augmentation discrétionnaires


L'augmentation discrétionnaire est un outil de rémunération qui permet à Aide juridique Ontario, dans des circonstances exceptionnelles, d'autoriser l'avocat qui en fait la demande à recevoir une rémunération additionnelle en plus du tarif autorisé. Les avocats qui représentent des clients vulnérables, qui s'occupent de causes complexes ou dont le travail a abouti à des résultats extraordinaires, peuvent faire une demande d'augmentation discrétionnaire à Aide juridique Ontario par écrit.

Du 7 au 25 mai 2012, Aide juridique Ontario recueillera les commentaires des avocats en droit criminel, en droit de la famille et en droit des réfugiés de la province au sujet des lignes directrices proposées dans le but d'améliorer le processus de demande d'augmentation discrétionnaire.

Les commentaires résultant des consultations aideront AJO à établir des lignes directrices qui clarifieront le processus de demande d'augmentation discrétionnaire pour les avocats tout en assurant une intendance équitable et efficiente des fonds publics lors de la prestation de services juridiques aux clients de l'aide juridique.


Participation à une séance de consultation en personne ou par vidéoconférence


Du 7 au 25 mai, AJO tiendra des séances de consultation en personne et par vidéoconférence auprès des avocats en droit criminel, en droit de la famille et en droit des réfugiés. Les personnes qui désirent participer à une des séances de consultation sont priées de s'y inscrire en se rendant à la page d'inscription à une séance.


Consultation en ligne


Les avocats qui ne sont pas en mesure de participer à une des séances en personne ou par vidéoconférence peuvent visionner une présentation portant sur les augmentations discrétionnaires sur le site Web d’Aide juridique Ontario et fournir leurs commentaires en ligne. Toutes les vidéos sont sous-titrées.


Questions et réponses


Les réponses à des questions sur les processus de consultation et de demande d’augmentation discrétionnaire se trouvent à la section des Questions et réponses. Les personnes qui ne trouvent pas leurs questions dans cette section peuvent les soumettre en ligne à Aide juridique Ontario.