2014/15 funding to transform and strengthen the capacity of community legal clinics

LAO’s Clinic Transformation Fund and the Fund to Strengthen the Capacity of Community and Legal Clinics are supporting innovation in clinic transformation for three years, commencing in 2013/14. They were developed to:

Clinics that received 2014/15 funding

ARCH Disability Law Centre on behalf of St. Michael’s Legal Services Project – $134,505

In a new model of partnership between medical and legal services, clients receive holistic legal and medical services in the family medicine department at St. Michael’s Hospital in Toronto. The goals of this partnership are to stabilize clients’ situations and prevent cascading problems at this key access point, and to help medical staff and social workers identify and refer legal issues.

Chatham-Kent Legal Clinic on behalf of the Southwest Region executive directors group – $16,121

The clinic expects to complete a needs and resource assessment in June 2015 to help LAO’s Southwest Region community legal clinics plan for changes in their clinic service practice and the delivery of poverty law services.

Community Legal Clinic - Simcoe, Haliburton, Kawartha Lakes – $219,667

The clinic’s Clinic Law Interview Project uses innovative technology to support an efficient process for client interviews. It plans to develop an infrastructure to expand an access-to-justice interview tool across clinics.

Eastern Region community legal clinics – $218,752

Legal Aid Ontario’s eastern region community legal clinics are conducting a needs and resource assessment. The resultant information, anticipated in June 2015, will help them plan for changes in the service and delivery of poverty law services.

Flemingdon Community Legal Services on behalf of the GTA transformation project – $500,000

The clinic will develop service delivery models and a transition plan for the GTA Region. This project is part of a systemic restructuring initiative by 16 GTA community legal clinics to reduce administrative cost structures and enhance client service delivery.

Halton Community Legal Services – $385,700

The clinic has already had success in developing the Legal Health Check Up project. This project, now being piloted in three other clinics, is a responsive, web-based questionnaire that asks clients about common legal problems they may encounter in the areas of income, housing, education, employment and social, medical and family supports. The clinic works with several community intermediaries who use the Legal Health Check Up to refer clients to the clinic. The data gathered will enable the clinic to keep an ongoing finger on the pulse of the community’s needs.

HIV & AIDS Legal Clinic Ontario – $91,400

The clinic will identify barriers faced by trans Ontarians in accessing justice and legal aid services, recommend strategies to overcome these barriers and share its findings with Ontario’s trans community, as well as legal service providers.

Legal Clinic of Guelph and Wellington County for the Southwest Region executive - $115,500

This clinic will help all Southwest Region clinics build a virtual back office network that streamlines administrative functions in order to free up resources to reinvest in service delivery.

Northern Ontario Community Legal Clinic – $151,900

A feasibility study will help 11 legal clinics in northern Ontario coordinate and collaborate. It will result in an evidence-based report, due June 2015, that will identify ways to reduce administrative cost structures that can free up resources to reinvest into service delivery.

Northumberland Community Legal Centre; Community Legal Clinic - Simcoe, Haliburton, Kawartha Lakes; Community Advocacy and Legal Centre; Durham College Department of Justice and Emergency Services, and Fleming College School of Justice and Business Studies – $80,038

These clinics are expanding a successful program for paralegal students that provides them with learning opportunities and placements to the Community Legal Clinic – Simcoe, Haliburton, Kawartha Lakes. The program will also help the clinics pilot strategies for expanding paralegal services and training.

Northwest Community Legal Clinic, Huron Perth Legal Clinic, Community Advocacy and Legal Centre, and Northumberland Community Legal Clinic – $294,000

These clinics’ Rural and Remote Boldness Project is developing, testing and evaluating service delivery models in rural and remote areas of the province. Early innovation ideas have been developed, and the teams will prototype these innovations in Fall 2015. Among the innovations:

  • an app for clients to access legal information, service providers in the area and data for strategic resource decision-making
  • a geo-mapping/data analytics tool for rural and remote areas
  • evaluation methodology
  • use of trusted intermediaries and development of partners such as public libraries and health service providers.

Ottawa Clinics Transformation Project – $225,000

Three community legal clinics in Ottawa looked at ways to improve access to justice for low income people in the Ottawa area by amalgamating their administration. They considered community needs, community clinic strengths and areas for potential growth.

Rural Legal Services and Lanark, Leeds and Grenville Legal Clinic Business Review Process – $80,000

These two merged legal clinics are reviewing their business practices to ensure a smooth transition. They will develop more streamlined administration while maintaining ongoing operations, management and enhanced service delivery.

South Asian Legal Clinic of Ontario Safe Centre of Peel (SCOP) Project - $61,000

The South Asian Legal Clinic of Ontario, Mississauga Community Legal Services, and North Peel and Dufferin Legal Services are using this funding to serve victims of domestic violence in Peel Region in a more cost effective and efficient manner.

Specialty Clinics Transformation Project - $217,000

This project is pursuing the co-location of eight specialty clinics and will identify the potential for an enhanced shared IT/communications infrastructure that supports shared administrative functions, reduces real estate and administrative costs, and allows for reinvestment into client services.

Southwest Region Clinic Coordination Project – $120,822

The region is hiring professional strategic support for multiple transformation projects. The projects will create greater collaboration and integration to strengthen the Southwest Region clinic system’s ability to effectively deliver community-based poverty law services. The projects include a “learning lab” innovation model, based on evidence-based client/community needs in the southwest.

Waterloo Region Community Legal Services – $123,095

The clinic is developing a holistic service model, through partnerships, where social workers and students support clinic law services across the region.

Windsor-Essex Bilingual Legal Clinic – $35,000

The clinic is a bilingual health and social service hub offering multiple services directly and through partnerships with other agencies. The funding will help it create a management plan to identify how organizations will meet their operational requirements within this hub.

Soutien 2014‑2015 aux projets de transformation et de renforcement de la capacité des cliniques juridiques et autres organismes communautaires

Le Fonds de transformation et le Fonds de renforcement de la capacité des cliniques juridiques et autres organismes communautaires, mis en place en 2013‑2014, viennent soutenir l’innovation dans le processus de modernisation des cliniques pendant trois ans. Ils ont été élaborés pour atteindre les objectifs suivants :

Liste des cliniques ayant reçu un financement en 2014‑2015

ARCH Disability Law Centre pour les St. Michael’s Legal Services — 134 505 $

Dans le cadre d’un nouveau modèle de partenariat entre les services médicaux et les services juridiques, les clients reçoivent des services juridiques et médicaux complets au service de médecine familial de l’hôpital St. Michael’s de Toronto. Les objectifs recherchés dans ce point d’entrée principal sont de stabiliser la situation des personnes vulnérables, d’éviter que leurs problèmes ne se succèdent en cascade et d’aider le personnel médical et les travailleurs sociaux à repérer les problèmes juridiques et à effectuer les renvois nécessaires.

Chatham-Kent Legal Clinic pour le groupe de directeurs généraux de cliniques du Sud-Ouest — 16 121 $

La clinique prévoit de mener à bien l’évaluation des besoins et des ressources en juin 2015 pour aider les cliniques juridiques communautaires de la région du Sud-Ouest d’AJO à planifier les changements aux domaines de pratique des cliniques et à la prestation des services en droit des pauvres.

Community Legal Clinic - Simcoe, Haliburton, Kawartha Lakes — 219 667 $

La clinique utilise une technologie innovante qui vient appuyer un processus efficace pour les entrevues des clients. Au cours du prochain volet du développement du projet, la clinique vise à mettre en place l’infrastructure permettant d’étendre un outil d’entrevue pour l’accès à la justice à l’ensemble des cliniques.

Les cliniques juridiques communautaires de la région de l’Est — 218 752 $

Les cliniques mènent actuellement une évaluation des besoins et des ressources. Les résultats de cette évaluation, prévus pour juin 2015, aideront les cliniques juridiques communautaires de la région de l’Est à planifier les changements à la pratique des cliniques et à la prestation des services en droit des pauvres.

Flemingdon Community Legal Services pour le projet de modernisation de la RGT — 500 000 $

La clinique élaborera des modèles de prestation de service et un plan de transition pour la RGT. Ce projet entre dans le cadre d’une initiative de restructuration systémique menée par 16 cliniques juridiques communautaires de la RGT dans le but de réduire les structures des coûts administratifs et d’améliorer la prestation de services.

Halton Community Legal Services — 385 700 $

La clinique a déjà été couronnée de succès dans l’élaboration du Bulletin de santé juridique. Cet outil fournit un questionnaire en ligne réactif portant sur les problèmes juridiques courants auxquels les clients peuvent faire face dans des domaines comme le revenu, le logement, les études, l’emploi, l’aide sociale, la santé et le soutien aux familles. La clinique a recours à plusieurs intermédiaires de la communauté. L’objectif est d’augmenter le nombre de clients servis en rejoignant ceux qui s’adressent uniquement à ces organismes partenaires. Les données recueillies grâce à l’outil permettront à la clinique de se tenir continuellement au fait des besoins de la localité. L’outil est actuellement à l’essai dans trois autres cliniques.

HIV & AIDS Legal Clinic Ontario — 91 400 $

La clinique ciblera les barrières rencontrées par les Ontariennes et Ontariens transgenres pour accéder à la justice et aux services d’aide juridique, formulera des recommandations sur les stratégies qui permettent de surmonter ces barrières et partagera les résultats de ses recherches avec la communauté transgenre de l’Ontario ainsi qu’avec les prestataires de service juridiques.

Legal Clinic of Guelph and Wellington County pour la direction des cliniques de la région du Sud-Ouest — 115 500 $

Cette clinique aidera les cliniques de la région du Sud-Ouest à bâtir un réseau administratif virtuel qui rationalisera les tâches administratives afin de libérer des ressources qui seront alors réattribuées à la prestation des services.

Les cliniques juridiques communautaires du Nord de l’Ontario — 151 900 $

Une étude de faisabilité aidera les 11 cliniques juridiques du Nord à collaborer et à coordonner leurs services. Le rapport, qui est fondé sur des données probantes, prévu pour juin 2015 déterminera des moyens de réduire les structures de coûts administratifs et à libérer des ressources qui seront attribuées à la prestation des services.

Northumberland Community Legal Centre, Community Legal Clinic - Simcoe, Haliburton, Kawartha Lakes, Community Advocacy and Legal Centre, Durham College Department of Justice and Emergency Services et Fleming College School of Justice and Business Studies — 80 038 $

Ces cliniques étendent actuellement l’ampleur d’un programme pour les étudiants parajuristes qui a été couronné de succès et qui leur fournit des possibilités d’apprentissage et de placements à la clinique Orillia. Le programme aidera également à mettre à l’essai les stratégies des cliniques pour étendre la formation des parajuristes et les services qu’ils peuvent offrir.

Northwest Community Legal Clinic, Huron Perth Legal Clinic, Community Advocacy and Legal Centre et Northumberland Community Legal Clinic — 294 000 $

Le Rural and Remote Boldness Project vise à élaborer, tester et évaluer les modèles de prestation de service dans les régions rurales et éloignées de la province. Ce projet a déjà donné le jour à de premières solutions d’innovation et les équipes les mettront à l’essai à l’automne 2015. Les innovations comprennent les suivantes :

  • Une application qui permet aux clients d’accéder à de l’information juridique, aux prestataires de service dans la région et à des données pour une prise de décision stratégique sur les ressources;
  • Un outil de géocartographie et d’analyse des données pour les régions rurales et éloignées;
  • Une méthode d’évaluation;
  • Le recours à des intermédiaires de confiance et la recherche de partenaires tels les bibliothèques publiques et les prestataires de services de santé.

Les cliniques d’Ottawa pour le Projet de modernisation — 225 000 $

Trois cliniques juridiques communautaires à Ottawa ont cherché des moyens d’améliorer l’accès à la justice pour les personnes à faible revenu dans la région d’Ottawa en regroupant leurs fonctions administratives. Elles ont pris en considération les besoins des communautés qu’elles servent, les forces des cliniques juridiques communautaires et les domaines à potentiel de croissance.

Rural Legal Services et de la Lanark, Leeds and Grenville Legal Clinic pour le Processus d’examen des activités — 80 000 $

Ces deux cliniques juridiques fusionnées repensent leurs pratiques afin d’assurer une transition harmonieuse. Elles élaboreront une gestion rationalisée tout en assurant la continuité des activités courantes, la gestion et la prestation de services améliorés.

South Asian Legal Clinic of Ontario pour le projet SCOP (Safe Centre of Peel) — 61 000 $

La South Asian Legal Clinic of Ontario, les Mississauga Community Legal Services et les North Peel and Dufferin Legal Services utilisent ce financement afin de servir d’une manière efficiente et efficace par rapport au coût les personnes qui vivent une situation de violence familiale dans la région de Peel.

Les cliniques spécialisées pour le Projet de modernisation — 217 000 $

Le projet vise à regrouper huit cliniques spécialisées sous un même toit et à définir la possibilité d’utiliser une infrastructure commune et améliorée pour les TI et la communication afin de permettre un usage commun des fonctions administratives, de réduire les coûts de location de bureaux et les coûts administratifs entraînant des économies qui pourraient être attribuées aux services aux clients.

Les cliniques de la région du Sud-Ouest pour le Projet de coordination — 120 822 $

La région recrute du personnel de soutien stratégique pour appuyer plusieurs projets de modernisation. Les projets ont pour but de créer une culture de collaboration et de partenariat plus grande pour renforcer la capacité du réseau des cliniques de la région du Sud-Ouest en vue d’offrir des services en droit des pauvres de manière efficace. Le projet comprend le modèle d’innovation du « laboratoire d’apprentissage », fondé sur les besoins prouvés des clients et de la localité dans le Sud-Ouest.

Waterloo Region Community Legal Services — 123 095 $

La clinique élabore un modèle de service complet qui, grâce à des partenariats, permet aux travailleurs sociaux et aux étudiants d’appuyer les services juridiques des cliniques dans l’ensemble de la région.

Clinique juridique bilingue Windsor-Essex — 35 000 $

Cette clinique est un carrefour bilingue de services de santé et de services sociaux qui offre de nombreux services directement et par l’entremise de partenariats avec d’autres organismes. Le financement aidera la clinique à élaborer un plan de gestion visant à déterminer la façon dont les organismes vont satisfaire les exigences opérationnelles au sein de ce carrefour.