Privacy notices


LAO Privacy Policy

Privacy Statement

Legal Aid Ontario (LAO) is governed by the provisions of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act and the Legal Aid Services Act. Both of these laws have provisions limiting how LAO can collect and disclose information, including the personal information collected from legal aid applicants and lawyers.

Legal Aid Ontario collects and uses personal information only as required for business purposes. On each legal aid form that requires personal information, there is a statement setting out the purposes for collection and the authority in law for the collection.

Personal information is not sold to third parties. It is disclosed only as authorized by law. In some cases, disclosure will be permitted because the person from whom the information came has consented to its disclosure. Disclosure may also take place where it is necessary for the performance of the duties of an LAO employee. The LAO board has authorized a limited number of disclosures to third parties which are necessary for LAO to conduct business.

LAO has a detailed policy on privacy and staff are trained in issues of confidentiality and privacy. LAO also has physical, technological and procedural safeguards to prevent unauthorized access to the information LAO holds.

It is important that the personal information LAO has about individuals be correct. If you wish to view or correct your own personal information, you may contact any legal aid area office to do so.

Under the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, individuals have the right to request access to information which LAO holds. Where a request is denied, a written decision is provided, setting out the reasons for the denial. The requester has a right of appeal to the Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario.

  • View our complete privacy policy here (59 KB).
  • View a listing of LAO's Ten Privacy Principles here.
  • View a question and answer document about privacy here.

If you have any questions about privacy, contact the LAO FIPPA Coordinator at:
Legal Aid Ontario
Atrium on Bay
40 Dundas Street West, Suite 200
Toronto ON M5G 2H1
Tel: 416-979-1446 or 1-800-668-8258
Fax: 416-979-7338

Protection de la vie privée

Protection de la vie privée

Déclaration concernant la protection de la vie privée

Aide juridique Ontario est régie par les dispositions de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée et de la Loi sur les services d'aide juridique. Ces deux lois comportent des dispositions restreignant le mode de collecte et de divulgation des renseignements par Aide juridique Ontario, y compris les renseignements personnels recueillis auprès des demandeurs d'aide juridique et des avocats.

Aide juridique Ontario recueille et utilise des renseignements personnels uniquement à des fins opérationnelles. Chaque formulaire d'aide juridique exigeant des renseignements personnels comporte une déclaration expliquant les objectifs de la collecte et les pouvoirs juridiques l'autorisant.

Les renseignements personnels ne sont pas vendus à des tiers. Ils ne sont divulgués que si la loi l'autorise. Dans certains cas, la divulgation sera autorisée, car la personne qui a fourni les renseignements en a autorisé leur divulgation. La divulgation peut également se produire si elle s'impose dans le cadre de l'exécution des fonctions d'un membre du personnel d'Aide juridique Ontario. Le conseil d'administration de l'organisme a autorisé un nombre limité de cas de divulgation des renseignements à des tiers rendus nécessaires dans le cadre du fonctionnement d'Aide juridique Ontario.

Aide juridique Ontario dispose d'une politique détaillée concernant la protection de la vie privée. Le personnel reçoit une formation en matière de confidentialité et de protection des renseignements personnels. Aide juridique Ontario s'est également dotée de mesures de protection physiques, technologiques et procédurales pour prévenir tout accès non autorisé aux renseignements qu'elle détient.

Il est important que les renseignements personnels dont Aide juridique Ontario dispose à propos de particuliers soient exacts. Si vous souhaitez consulter ou corriger vos renseignements personnels, vous pouvez vous adresser à n'importe quel bureau d'aide juridique.

Aux termes de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée, les particuliers ont le droit de demander à avoir accès aux renseignements qu'Aide juridique Ontario détient. En cas de refus d'une demande, une décision par écrit est fournie expliquant les motifs du refus. Le demandeur a le droit d'interjeter appel auprès du commissaire à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée de l'Ontario.

  • Obtenez le texte intégral de notre politique sur la protection de la privée (PDF PDF 59 KB).
  • Cliquez ici pour consulter la liste des dix principles de protection de la vie privée.
  • Cliquez ici pour consulter le document Questions et réponses sur la protection de la vie privée.

Si vous avez des questions sur la protection de la vie privée, veuillez vous adresser à la coordonnatrice de l'accès à l'information et de la protection de la vie privée d'Aide juridique Ontario :
Aide juridique Ontario
Atrium on Bay
40, rue Dundas Ouest, bureau 200
Toronto (Ontario) M5G 2H1
Tél. : 416 979-2352 ou 1 800 668-8258
Téléc. : 416 979-7338