Test case profile

Protecting the privacy rights of sex-assault victims

In 2014, the Supreme Court of Canada ruled that sexual assault victims cannot have police records unrelated to the case used against them in court.

LAO supported the Barbra Schlifer Commemorative Clinic for Women as an intervener in the Quesnelle appeal. Vincent Quesnelle was convicted of sodomizing two women and sentenced to six years—but the Ontario Court of Appeal overturned that ruling and ordered a new trial, saying he had been wrongly denied access to the victims police records in unrelated matters.

The Supreme Court, in a unanimous ruling, restored the conviction and said that unrelated police occurrence reports should be kept from the accused and their lawyer.

The Barbra Schlifer Commemorative Clinic argued that defence counsels use of private records to discredit and re-victimize complainants often results in women dropping the charge by refusing to participate.

Quotes

The clinic serves women from diverse backgrounds and highly marginalized communities.

Its clients experience multiple social inequalities, including poverty, homelessness, racism, and discrimination on the basis of mental health or disability. They frequently have a heightened involvement with immigration authorities, child welfare agencies, the police and other service providers as a result of current or historical abuse.

As such, their lives are often the subject of intense scrutiny and extensive documentation. They are, therefore, more vulnerable to having their records used to challenge their credibility and/or to trigger prejudicial myths and stereotypes in sexual assault proceedings.

This case tested the crowns right to routinely subpoena past occurrence records of police. Without Legal Aid Ontarios Test Case funding program, we quite simply would not have been there for this important intervention and, ultimately, success on behalf of the most vulnerable.

— Amanda Dale , Executive Director, Barbra Schlifer Commemorative Clinic

More information

Profil des causes types

Défense des droits à la protection des renseignements personnels des victimes d’agression sexuelle

En 2014, la Cour suprême du Canada a statué que les dossiers de police sans lien avec une affaire entendue au tribunal ne pouvaient pas être utilisés contre les victimes d’agression sexuelle.

AJO a appuyé la Barbra Schlifer Commemorative Clinic for Women qui a agi à titre d’intervenante dans l’appel de l’affaire R. c. Quesnelle. Vincent Quesnelle a été reconnu coupable d’avoir sodomisé deux femmes. Il a été condamné à six ans de prison, mais la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario a infirmé cette décision et ordonné un nouveau procès, arguant qu’on lui avait injustement refusé l’accès aux dossiers de police des victimes dressés dans le cadre d’une enquête relative à des incidents sans lien avec l’infraction en cause.

Dans un jugement unanime, la Cour suprême a rétabli la déclaration de culpabilité et a déclaré que « les rapports de police » sans lien avec l’affaire ne devaient être divulgués ni à l’accusé ni à son avocat.

La Barbra Schlifer Commemorative Clinic a fait valoir que l’utilisation de dossiers privés par les avocats de la défense pour discréditer et victimiser à nouveau les plaignantes se traduit souvent par un abandon des procédures, car les femmes refusent d’y prendre part.

Citations

« La clinique sert des femmes issues d’horizons divers et de communautés très marginalisées.

« Ses clientes font face à de multiples inégalités sociales, notamment à la pauvreté, à l’itinérance, au racisme et à la discrimination fondée sur la santé mentale ou le handicap. Elles ont plus souvent affaire aux services d’immigration, aux agences de protection de l’enfance, à la police et à d’autres fournisseurs de services en raison de sévices actuels ou passés.

« De ce fait, leurs vies font souvent l’objet d’un examen minutieux et d’une documentation détaillée. Leurs dossiers sont donc plus susceptibles d’être utilisés pour mettre en doute leur crédibilité et pour véhiculer des stéréotypes et des mythes préjudiciables dans les affaires d’agression sexuelle.

« Cette cause a permis de contester le droit de la couronne d’exiger systématiquement la soumission des dossiers de police relatifs à des incidents passés. Sans le programme de financement des causes types d’Aide juridique Ontario, nous n’aurions tout simplement pas été là pour effectuer cette intervention importante ni, en définitive, pour assister, au nom des plus vulnérables, au succès de cette affaire. »

—Amanda Dale, directrice générale, Barbra Schlifer Commemorative Clinic

Pour en savoir plus