Information for lawyers

Interested in doing legal aid work?

Lawyers who represent legal aid clients must belong to the panel(s) for the type(s) of law they practice. The standards for each panel provide the minimum experience and professional development requirements that lawyers must meet. Panel standards help ensure that legal aid clients receive high-quality services.

Ongoing annual professional development is necessary to maintain panel membership.

Legal Aid Ontario’s panel standards were developed in consultation with:

  • members of the refugee, criminal and family bars
  • duty counsel
  • lawyers practising before the Consent and Capacity Board
  • judges
  • lawyers' associations
  • Law Society of Upper Canada

How to join a legal aid panel

Step one: Get started

Before you can do any paid work for Legal Aid Ontario, you must be accepted as a member of Legal Aid Ontario’s panel in your area(s) of law. In other words, you need to be empanelled:

  • in your area of law (the refugee panel has its own separate process.)
  • in the geographic area where you primarily carry on your law practice (if you practice in multiple cities, you must select one area as your home base)

In general, it takes three to six weeks in total to become empanelled (it may take longer to be accepted to the refugee panel).

To start the process, you need to meet all applicable panel standards, or meet exemption criteria. Please provide, and submit to your district office, the following documents, in person, by fax or by email:

Send your application to:

  • Essex, Lambton & Kent district office
    Includes: Kent county (Chatham), Lambton county (Sarnia), and Essex county (Windsor)
  • London district office
    Includes: Grey county (Owen Sound), Bruce county (Walkerton), Perth county (Stratford), Huron county (Goderich), Elgin county (St. Thomas), Middlesex county (London), and Oxford county (Woodstock)
  • Hamilton-Kitchener district office
    Includes: Wellington county (Guelph), Haldimand county (Hagersville/Cayuga), Waterloo region (Kitchener), Halton region (Oakville), Norfolk county (Simcoe), Niagara region (Welland, St. Catharines), Brant county (Brantford), and Hamilton
  • GTA Peel York
    Includes: Amaranth, Aurora, Brampton, Caledon, East Garafraxa, East Gwillimbury, East Luther Grand Valley, Georgina, King, Markham, Melancthon, Mississauga, Mono, Mulmur, Newmarket, Orangeville, Richmond Hill, Shelburne, Vaughan, and Witchurch-Stouffville
  • GTA North Central
    Includes: East York, Etobicoke, North York, Scarborough, and York
  • GTA Toronto Central
    Includes: Old Toronto
  • Barrie central district office
    Includes: Muskoka district (Bracebridge, Gravenhurst, Huntsville, Georgian Bay, Lake of Bays, Muskoka Lakes, Wahta Mohawke Territory, Moose Point 79), Parry Sound district, Simcoe county, City of Kawartha Lakes, Durham region (Pickering, Ajax, Oshawa, Whitby, Clarington, Uxbridge, Brock, Scugog), Haliburton county, Peterborough county, and Northumberland county
  • Ottawa district office
    Includes: City of Ottawa, Lanark county, Renfrew county, United counties of Leeds-Grenville, United counties of Prescott-Russell, United counties of Stormont-Dundas, Frontenac county, Hastings and Prince Edward counties, Lennox and Addington counties
  • Northeast district office
    Includes: Algoma district, Nipissing district, Sudbury-Manitoulin district, Temiskaming district, and Timmins-Cochrane district
  • Thunder Bay district office
    Includes: Kenora district (Dryden, Kenora, Red Lake, Sioux Lookout, Ear Falls, Ignace, Machin, Pickle Lake, Sioux Narrows-Nestor Falls), Rainy River district (Fort Frances, Rainy River, Alberton, Atikokan, Chapple, Dawson, Emo, La Vallee, Lake of the Woods, Morley), Thunder Bay district (Thunder Bay, Greenstone, Marathon, Conmee, Dorion, Gillies, Manitouwadge, Nipigon, O’Connor, Oliver Paipoonge, Red Rock, Schreiber, Shuniah, Terrace Bay), and Nishnawbe-Aski Nation (NAN)

Step two: Meet with your director general

Once all of the application documents arrive at your area’s district office, the director general may contact you to set up an informal discussion. If you wish, you can call the director general yourself to arrange this meeting. The purpose of this meeting is to get to know each other and to discuss your expectations for doing Legal Aid Ontario work. You will then get a letter from the director general that confirms:

  • you have been empanelled with Legal Aid Ontario
  • the panels you have been approved for
  • the conditions, if any, that apply to your empanelment (if you are new to the practice of law or to a particular area of law, these conditions may include achieving prescribed standards in a set period of time, reviewing mandatory substantive law materials, and/or having an informal mentor).

The director general will forward your application package to Legal Aid Ontario’s Provincial Office for processing.

Note: Lawyers new to an area of practice may be admitted conditionally to a panel provided they agree to acquire the necessary experience within a specified time frame, and take approved continuing legal education or be mentored as required by their district area director. This conditional admission does not apply to the Extremely Serious Criminal Matters panel or the Complex Case Rate (CCR) panel.

Step three: Await your Legal Aid Ontario welcome package

You will receive, in the mail, a Legal Aid Ontario welcome package that includes:

  • your Legal Aid Ontario solicitor number/vendor number
  • your tier level (the level at which you can bill; if you are a new call, you will be billing at the Tier 1 level for criminal, mental health, prison law, tribunals and civil litigation)
  • your user ID, password and other information about Legal Aid Online (Legal Aid Ontario’s online billing portal
  • technical tips for online billing
  • contact information for billing questions/concerns
  • information about conditions on your empanelment tailored to your situation, such as the requirement to attend training sessions, work with a mentor, etc.

Forms

Questions

For more information on panel standards, please contact your local district area director. The panel standards were developed by Legal Aid Ontario's Quality Service Office.

Contact the LAO Finance department, Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., by phone at 416-979-2352 (Susan Howling at ext. 6487 or Julia Marinucci at ext. 6252) or by fax at 647-260-0548 if you have questions about:

  • Fully completed applications that have been approved by district offices
  • Tier level increases
  • Maintaining vendor records (address changes, updating banking information, etc.)
  • HST refunds
  • Government/legal garnishment
  • Solicitor electronic fund transfer (bank EFT) rejects
^

Renseignements à l'intention des avocats et avocates

Listes des avocats d'aide juridique

Les avocats qui représentent les clients de l'aide juridique doivent être inscrits sur les listes du domaine du droit dans lequel ils exercent. Les normes de chaque liste précisent les années d'expérience et la formation professionnelle requises par les avocats. Les normes ont été établies pour assurer aux clients de l'aide juridique des services de haute qualité.

Une formation professionnelle annuelle est nécessaire pour se maintenir sur les listes.

Les normes d'Aide juridique Ontario ont été élaborées en consultation avec :

  • Des avocats en droit des réfugiés, en droit criminel et en droit de la famille;
  • Des avocats qui représentent des clients devant la Commission du consentement et de la capacité;
  • Des juges;
  • Des associations d'avocats;
  • Le Barreau de l'Ontario.

Processus d’inscription à une liste d’avocats

Première étape : demande d’inscription

Avant d’effectuer tout travail d’aide juridique rémunéré pour Aide juridique Ontario, les avocats doivent s’assurer d’être inscrits à la ou aux listes d’Aide juridique Ontario dans le ou les domaines dans lesquels ils exercent leur profession. Est assujettie à l’approbation d’Aide juridique Ontario, l’inscription à la liste :

  • Du domaine du droit dans lequel ils exercent (la liste des avocats en droit des réfugiés a son propre processus);
  • De la région géographique dans laquelle ils exercent principalement (si l’avocat exerce le droit dans plusieurs villes, il devra en choisir une comme région principale.)

En règle générale, le processus dure de trois à six semaines en tout (plus pour la liste des avocats en droit des réfugiés).

Avant d’entamer le processus, les avocats doivent s’assurer qu’ils remplissent toutes les exigences et exemptions de la liste à laquelle ils souhaitent être inscrits. S’ils les remplissent, ils doivent soumettre au bureau d’Aide juridique Ontario de leur district, en personne, par télécopieur ou par courriel les documents suivants dûment remplis :

Envoyez votre demande d’inscription à :

  • Bureau du district d'Essex—Lambton—Kent
    Comté de Kent (Chatham), Comté de Lambton (Sarnia), et Comté de Essex (Windsor)
  • Bureau du district de London
    Comté de Grey (Owen Sound), Comté de Bruce (Walkerton), Comté de Perth (Stratford), Comté de Huron (Goderich), Comté de Elgin (St. Thomas), Comté de Middlesex (London), et Comté de Oxford (Woodstock)
  • Bureau du district de Hamilton‑Kitchener
    Comté de Wellington (Guelph), Comté de Haldimand (Hagersville/Cayuga), Région de Waterloo (Kitchener), Région de Halton (Oakville), Comté de Norfolk (Simcoe), Région de Niagara (Welland, St. Catharines), Comté de Brant (Brantford), Hamilton
  • Barrie Bureau du district du Centre
    District de Muskoka (Bracebridge, Gravenhurst, Huntsville, Georgian Bay, Lake of Bays, Muskoka Lakes, Wahta Mohawke Territory, Moose Point 79), District de Parry Sound, Comté de Simcoe, Comté de Peterborough, Comté de Northumberland, Comté de Haliburton, Région de Durham (Pickering, Ajax, Oshawa, Whitby, Clarington, Uxbridge, Brock, Scugog), et Ville de Kawartha Lakes
  • Bureau du district d'Ottawa
    Ville d'Ottawa, Comté de Lanark, Comté de Renfrew, Comté unis de Leeds-Grenville, Comté unis de Prescott-Russell, Comté unis de Stormont-Dundas, Comté de Frontenac, Comtés de Hastings et Prince Edward, Comtés de Lennox et d'Addington
  • Bureau du District du Nord-Est
    District de Algoma, District de Nipissing, District de Sudbury-Manitoulin, District de Temiskaming, et District de Timmins-Cochrane
  • Bureau du district du Nord-Ouest
    District de Kenora (Dryden, Kenora, Red Lake, Sioux Lookout, Ear Falls, Ignace, Machin, Pickle Lake, Sioux Narrows-Nestor Falls), District de Rainy River (Fort Frances, Rainy River, Alberton, Atikokan, Chapple, Dawson, Emo, La Vallee, Lake of the Woods, Morley), District de Thunder Bay (Thunder Bay, Greenstone, Marathon, Conmee, Dorion, Gillies, Manitouwadge, Nipigon, O’Connor, Oliver Paipoonge, Red Rock, Schreiber, Shuniah, Terrace Bay), Nishnawbe-Aski Nation (NAN)

Deuxième étape : rencontre avec le directeur général

Une fois le dossier de demande étudié, le directeur général invitera l’avocat à une rencontre informelle. Les avocats qui le souhaitent peuvent appeler le directeur général eux-mêmes pour solliciter l’entretien. Le but de l’entretien est de faire connaissance et de discuter des attentes d’Aide juridique Ontario en matière de travail d’aide juridique. Une lettre sera par la suite envoyée aux avocats dont la demande a été acceptée. La lettre comportera les renseignements suivants :

  • La confirmation de l’inscription de l’avocat à la ou aux listes d’Aide juridique Ontario;
  • Le nom de la ou des listes auxquelles l’avocat est inscrit;
  • Les conditions, le cas échéant, de l’inscription de l’avocat à la liste. (Un jeune avocat ou un avocat débutant dans un domaine de droit particulier devra s’engager à respecter les normes établies par Aide juridique Ontario dans un délai déterminé. Ceci comprend l’examen obligatoire de documents portant sur le droit substantiel ou le fait d’être encadré par un mentor.

Le directeur général transmettra votre dossier de demande au bureau provincial d’Aide juridique Ontario aux fins de traitement.

Remarque : Les avocats qui débutent dans un domaine du droit peuvent être inscrits sur les listes sous condition dans la mesure où ils acceptent d’acquérir l’expérience nécessaire dans un délai précis, de suivre les séances de formation juridique approuvées ou de participer à un programme d’encadrement selon les exigences du directeur régional. L’inscription sur la liste des affaires criminelles extrêmement sérieuses ou sur la liste du tarif pour cause complexe (TCC) ne peut pas être faite sous condition.

Troisième étape : réception d’une trousse de bienvenue

Les avocats dont la demande d’inscription a été acceptée recevront, par la poste, une trousse de bienvenue d’Aide juridique Ontario comprenant les renseignements suivants :

  • Le numéro d’avocat d’Aide juridique Ontario;
  • Le niveau d’expérience de l’avocat (le niveau d’expérience détermine le tarif horaire auquel l’avocat facture ses services); un jeune avocat sera au niveau 1 et facturera ses services en droit criminel, en droit de la santé mentale, en droit carcéral et dans le cadre de litiges devant un tribunal et de procès civils) au tarif horaire qui y correspond;
  • Le nom d’utilisateur, mot de passe et autres renseignements au sujet d’Aide juridique en ligne (le site de facturation en ligne d’Aide juridique Ontario);
  • Des conseils techniques au sujet de la facturation en ligne;
  • Les coordonnées des personnes ressources pour des questions concernant la facturation;
  • Des renseignements sur les conditions de l’inscription de l’avocat en particulier comme les exigences en matière de formation, le travail avec un mentor, etc.

Formulaires

Questions

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l’inscription aux listes, communiquer avec le directeur régional de votre district. Les normes ont été établies par le Service d’aide à la qualité d’Aide juridique Ontario.

Vous pouvez contacter le service des Finances d’AJO, par téléphone, du lundi au vendredi de 8 h à 17 h, au 416 979-2352 (Susan Howling, poste 6487, ou Julia Marinucci, poste 6252) ou par télécopieur au 647 260-0548, pour toute question concernant :

  • Les demandes d’inscription complètes qui ont été approuvées par les bureaux de district;
  • Le changement de niveau d’expérience;
  • Les coordonnées de l’avocat (changement d’adresse, mise à jour des renseignements bancaires, etc.);
  • Les remboursements de TVH;
  • Les saisies-arrêts et autres mesures judiciaires ou gouvernementales;
  • Les rejets des virements automatiques de fonds (VAF) au compte de l’avocat.
^