Information for lawyers

For criminal lawyers

This page includes links for criminal lawyers on LAO panels or working on legal aid cases.

Legal aid panels

Lawyers who represent legal aid clients must belong to the panel(s) for the type(s) of law they practice. The standards for each panel provide the minimum experience and professional development requirements that lawyers must meet. Panel standards help ensure that legal aid clients receive high-quality services.

A road map for panel lawyers

We have developed a manual to help guide panel lawyers through their working relationship with Legal Aid Ontario. Please read it closely. It includes details and hyperlinks for all the facts we think you need to provide legal services to LAO clients. Go to A road map for certificate and duty counsel lawyers.

Second chair program

This program for private bar lawyers working on LAO-funded cases supports hands-on training for junior lawyers and paid mentorship opportunities for senior lawyers. Learn more.

Case management

LAO provides case management programs for criminal lawyers who take on certain costly cases and proceedings.

Block fees

Legal Aid Ontario (LAO)s block fee program pays panel criminal lawyers fixed fees or rates (rather than hourly tariff payments) for providing services that lead to guilty plea or stay/withdrawal outcomes on a number of common criminal charges.

Criminal lawyers with non-Canadian clients

Brief introduction about this section of the site. Link to page (and maybe refugee/immigration section as well.

Essential information for criminal lawyers whose clients are non-Canadians

Renseignements à l'intention des avocats et avocates

À l’intention des avocats en droit criminel

Cette page contient des liens pour les avocats en droit criminel inscrits sur les listes d’AJO qui font du travail d’aide juridique.

Listes des avocats d’aide juridique

Les avocats qui représentent les clients de l’aide juridique doivent être inscrits sur les listes d’avocats dans le ou les domaines du droit dans lesquels ils exercent. Les normes de chaque liste précisent les années d’expérience et la formation professionnelle requises par les avocats. AJO a élaboré des normes particulières à chaque liste pour faire en sorte que les clients reçoivent des services de qualité.

Feuille de route pour les avocats inscrits sur les listes d’avocats d’Aide juridique Ontario

Nous avons publié un manuel pour guider les avocats inscrits sur les listes dans leur relation avec Aide juridique Ontario. Veuillez le lire attentivement. Vous y trouverez des explications et des hyperliens qui vous seront utiles lorsque vous fournirez des services juridiques aux clients d’AJO. Accédez à la Feuille de route pour les avocats qui acceptent des certificats et les avocats de service.

Programme d’assistance

Le programme d’assistance offre aux avocats du secteur privé qui s’occupent de causes financées par AJO des occasions de formation pratique pour les avocats débutants et de mentorat rémunéré pour les avocats chevronnés. Pour en savoir plus.

Gestion des causes

AJO offre un programme de gestion des causes aux avocats en droit criminel qui s’occupent de certaines causes et instances coûteuses.

Honoraires forfaitaires

Le programme d’honoraires forfaitaires est conçu pour verser un montant fixe (plutôt qu’un paiement au tarif horaire) aux avocats inscrits sur les listes en droit criminel pour fournir des services liés à un plaidoyer de culpabilité et à une suspension ou un retrait des accusations dans le cadre d’accusations criminelles usuelles.

Renseignements à l’intention des avocats en droit criminel qui ont des clients qui ne sont pas canadiens

Brief introduction about this section of the site. Link to page (and maybe refugee/immigration section as well.

Renseignements clés pour les avocats en droit criminel dont les clients ne sont pas canadiens