Information for lawyers

Billing deadlines

Information for Lawyers

Duty counsel billing deadlines

Duty counsel statements of account and services must be submitted for approval within 60 days from the date of service through Legal Aid Online.

To ensure prompt payment, you should be aware of the billing deadlines for current certificates.

Within six months of the one-year anniversary date of the certificate, you must submit an interim or final account for all fees and disbursements incurred within each 12-month period of the certificate. This is known as the 18 month rule.

Further interim or final accounts must be submitted within six months of each subsequent anniversary. Check the cover page of each certificate to review and record each billing deadline.

Billing deadlines are as follows:


Final accounts


  • If the case is completed within 12 months, your final account and any supplementary accounts must be received no later than six months after the one year anniversary date of the certificate.

  • If you have submitted a final account, any fees or disbursements you may have overlooked must be billed no later than six months after the one year anniversary date of the certificate.


Interim accounts


  • If the case is not completed within 12 months, you must submit an interim account for all fees and disbursements incurred during the first 12 months. This account must be received no later than six months after the one year anniversary date of the certificate.

  • If you have submitted an interim account, you must ensure that any additional unbilled fees and disbursements incurred during the first 12 months are billed no later than six months after the one year anniversary date of the certificate.

  • Do not resubmit or re-bill any work or disbursements previously billed, and only bill any additional work or disbursements incurred up to or after the end of the 12 month period.

  • For all work completed within each subsequent 12-month period after the first period, further interim or final accounts must be submitted within six months of each subsequent anniversary.

  • Before each billing deadline, you must ensure that you have billed for all work and disbursements incurred during the entire 12-month period. You should not resubmit or re-bill any work or disbursements that you have already billed.

    You can submit accounts at any time before the billing deadline. However, you must make sure to bill all additional fees and disbursements incurred after the first interim account was submitted and up to the certificate anniversary date. These accounts must be received within six months of the anniversary date.


Late accounts


Accounts that are not received by the billing deadlines are not eligible for payment. In extraordinary circumstances where an account has been submitted beyond the billing deadline, you may submit a formal request for an extension of time. Inadvertence or administrative difficulties are not accepted as the basis for discretion. Contact the Lawyer Service Centre for more information.

If the services or disbursements need to be billed to comply with the billing deadline rules, LAO will accept accounts for less than the normal minimums of $500 in fees and/or $50 in disbursements.

Renseignements à l'intention des avocats et avocates

Dates limites de facturation

Renseignements à l'intnetion des avocats et avocates

Avocats de service : dates limites de facturation

Les relevés de comptes et services des avocats de service doivent être soumis à l'approbation d'Aide juridique Ontario dans les 60 jours qui suivent la prestation de service par le biais d'Aide juridique en ligne.

Assurez-vous de connaître les dates limites de facturation des certificats en cours pour que le paiement soit effectué rapidement.

Dans les six mois de la date anniversaire du certificat, vous devez présenter les factures provisoires et les factures définitives pour les frais et les débours engagés pendant chaque période de 12 mois du certificat. C'est la « règle des 18 mois »

Les factures provisoires et les factures définitives suivantes doivent être présentées dans les six mois de la prochaine date anniversaire. Vérifiez l'avis qui accompagne chaque certificat d'aide juridique pour noter les dates limites de facturation.

Ci-suit les dates limites de facturation :


Factures définitives


  • Si l'affaire est réglée en 12 mois ou moins, votre facture définitive et toute facture supplémentaire doivent être reçues au plus tard six mois après la première date anniversaire du certificat.

  • Si vous avez présenté une facture définitive, tous les frais et débours dont vous n'avez pas tenu compte doivent être facturés au plus tard six mois après la première date anniversaire du certificat.


Factures provisoires


  • Si l’affaire n’est pas réglée en 12 mois ou moins, vous devez présenter des factures provisoires pour tous les frais et débours engagés au cours des 12 premiers mois. Ces factures doivent nous parvenir au plus tard six mois après la première date anniversaire du certificat.

  • Si vous avez déjà présenté des factures provisoires, vous devez vous assurer que tous les autres frais et débours des 12 premiers mois sont facturés dans les six mois qui suivent la première date d'anniversaire du certificat.

  • Si vous avez présenté une facture provisoire, ne facturez pas de nouveau le travail ou les débours déjà facturés.

  • Les factures provisoires et les factures définitives pour tous les travaux accomplis dans chaque période de 12 mois subséquente doivent être présentées dans les six mois suivant chaque anniversaire subséquent.

  • Avant la date limite de facturation, vous devez vous assurer que tous les travaux et débours des 12 derniers mois ont été facturés. Le travail ou les débours déjà facturés ne doivent pas être facturés de nouveau.

    Vous pouvez présenter des factures à tout moment avant la date limite de facturation. Toutefois, vous devez vous assurer de facturer tous les honoraires et débours supplémentaires engagés après la présentation de la première facture provisoire et jusqu’à la date anniversaire du certificat. Ces factures doivent être reçues dans les six mois de la date anniversaire.


Factures soumises en retard


Les factures qui ne sont pas reçues dans les délais de facturation ne peuvent être payées. Dans des circonstances extraordinaires, lorsqu’une facture a été présentée après la date limite de facturation, vous pouvez demander une prorogation. La demande ne peut se fonder sur une inadvertance ou des difficultés administratives. Pour de plus amples renseignements communiquer avec le Centre d'aide aux avocats.

Si les services ou débours doivent être facturés pour respecter les délais de facturation, AJO acceptera les factures provisoires affichant des honoraires inférieurs à 500 $ et des débours inférieurs à 50 $, ce qui est en dessous des seuils ordinaires.