Information for lawyers

Annual billing limits

Information for Lawyers

Hardcap & exemption requests policy framework


Purpose


The Annual Billing Limit Policy Framework contains information regarding Legal Aid Ontario (LAO)s annual billing limit and requests for exemptions.


Hardcap authority


LAOs hardcap authority is found in s.3 (2) 7 and 9 of Regulation 107/99 to the Legal Aid Services Act:

7. Beginning in the fiscal year 2004-2005, no lawyer shall be paid for more than 2,350 hours of services in a fiscal year.

9. The president may authorize payment for more hours of services than paragraph 7 would otherwise allow if he or she considers it necessary to ensure the representation of an applicant. O. Reg. 107/99, s. 3 (2); O. Reg. 180/04, s. 1.


Application & scope


The annual billing limit is based on the lawyers highest tier level X 2,350, regardless of tier level. Legal Aid Ontario (LAO)s fiscal year runs from April 1 to March 31.

Only dollars billed to LAO that are paid in a fiscal year are included in a lawyers annual billing limit. And only the dollars paid for work performed by an individual lawyer are included in his or her annual billing limit. Student or law clerk time is excluded from dollars allocated to an annual billing limit. If a lawyer acknowledges a certificate, but another lawyer performs the work required by the client, the amount billed is included in the non-acknowledging lawyers annual billing limit, even though the acknowledging lawyer is required to sign the account because he/she acknowledged the certificate.

Amounts billed in excess of the annual billing limit are disallowed and not paid, although disbursements and amounts billed by other lawyers on the same account are paid. Any unpaid fees cannot be resubmitted for reconsideration or payment at a later date.

Acknowledgement fees usually paid at the time the first account is submitted are disallowed and not paid if a lawyer reaches 100% of the annual billing limit.


Accountability


The Regional Vice-Presidents and Area Directors are accountable for the certificate budget and responsible for ensuring panel members remain within their hardcap. The Lawyer Services and Payments Department provide Vice-Presidents and Area Directors with panel member hardcap reports to assist them with this responsibility.


Exemptions


LAO strictly applies the annual billing limit contained in the Regulations of the Legal Aid Services Act. In exceptional circumstances, LAO may consider a request for an exemption from the application of the annual billing limit in relation to a particular certificate. Your request must be in writing to the Director, Lawyer Services & Payments, with a copy to the Area Director, and must provide sufficient details to enable a decision to be made. The Director will review your request together with the Area Director and make a recommendation to the Regional Vice-President and President.

The President has authority to grant an exemption. Exemptions are rarely granted and only in one instance to ensure a reasonable limit is placed on annual billing and service quality is not compromised. The expectation is that lawyers will review their billings regularly and adjust their practice accordingly, including not acknowledging new certificates, to avoid exceeding hardcap. Failure to remain within your annual billing allocation may result in non-payment for work done.

The President may consider the following factors when determining whether to grant an exemption:

  • What is the solicitors panel profile and the opinion of the panel manager, typically the area director, regarding the request? ( A panel profile includes factors such as compliance with administrative billing requirements, history of volunteering with LAO, efforts to save LAO money)
  • Is this the solicitors first exemption request?
  • Is the request a result of a lawyers volume of practice or other factors?
  • Does the solicitor provide services to a hard to serve client population (e.g., persons suffering from mental illness) where the number of service providers is small?
  • How many hours and dollars are being requested?
  • Is it necessary to ensure client representation?
  • Did unforeseeable circumstances contribute to the lawyer exceeding hardcap? E.g. law partner becoming ill in the middle of long trial
  • What efforts did the lawyer make to manage a high volume legal aid practice to avoid exceeding hardcap?
  • Is there evidence of a written agreement or contract between LAO and the solicitor that allows for the hardcap to be exceeded?

Appeal from an exemption decision


There is no appeal from the President's decision.


Reporting


The Lawyer Services and Payments Department will provide regular reports to the Regional VPs and the Area Director regarding lawyers approaching the annual billing limits.

The Lawyer Services and Payments Department provides an annual report to LAOs Executive Committee and the Board regarding the annual billing limit, including the number of lawyers that reach their hardcap and the number of requests for exemptions.


Support


Notices are sent to lawyers who reach 50%, 75%, 90% and 100% of the annual billing limit. Lawyers are responsible for monitoring legal aid billings, being in the best position to know the amount billed and paid by LAO. Lawyers must take all necessary steps to ensure they do not exceed the annual billing limit.

Lawyers can check their annual billings Online. Please contact the Lawyer Service Centre for support and information regarding hardcap. Lawyer Service Centre (416) 979-9934 or 1-866-979-9934.

Renseignements à l'intention des avocats et avocates

Limite de facturation annuelle

Renseignements à l'intention des avocts et avocates

Énoncé de politique sur la limite de facturation annuelle et sur les demandes d'exemption


Objet


Le présent Énoncé de politique sur la limite de facturation annuelle contient des renseignements concernant la limite de facturation annuelle et les demandes d’exemption.


Pouvoir de fixer une limite absolue


Le pouvoir de limiter le nombre d’heures facturées est établi par les paragraphes 3 (2) 7 et 9 du Règlement de l’Ontario 107/99, pris en application de la Loi sur les services d’aide juridique :

7. À partir de l’exercice 2004-2005, nul avocat ne doit être payé pour plus de 2 350 heures de services fournis au cours d’un exercice.

9. Le président peut autoriser le paiement d’un nombre d’heures de services supérieur à celui que la disposition 7 autoriserait par ailleurs s’il estime que cela est nécessaire pour assurer la représentation de l’auteur d’une demande. Règl. de l’Ont. 337/99, art. 1; Règl. de l’Ont. 180/04, art. 1. O. Reg. 107/99, s. 3 (2); O. Reg. 180/04, s. 1.


Domaine d'application


La limite de facturation annuelle pour chaque exercice financier se détermine en multipliant le taux horaire correspondant au niveau d’expérience le plus élevé de l'avocat par 2 350. L’exercice financier d’Aide juridique Ontario (AJO) est du 1er avril au 31 mars.

Seuls les honoraires facturés à AJO et payés au cours de l’exercice sont inclus dans la limite de facturation annuelle d'un avocat. Seuls les honoraires payés à l’égard de services rendus par l’avocat lui-même sont inclus dans sa limite de facturation annuelle. Les travaux effectués par les techniciens ou stagiaires en droit sont exclus. Par exemple, si vous accusez réception d’un certificat, mais si un autre avocat effectue le travail exigé par le client, le montant facturé est inclus dans la limite de facturation annuelle de l’autre avocat et non dans la vôtre, même si vous êtes tenu de signer la facture parce que vous avez accepté le certificat.

Les montants facturés au-delà de la limite de facturation annuelle sont rejetés et ne sont pas payés, bien que les débours et montants facturés par d’autres avocats à l’égard de la même facture soient payés. Les sommes impayées ne peuvent pas être soumises de nouveau à une date ultérieure.

Les frais d’acceptation du certificat habituellement payés au moment de l’acceptation sont rejetés et ne sont pas payés si vous atteignez 100 p. cent de la limite de facturation annuelle.


Responsabilité


Les vice-présidents régionaux et les directeurs régionaux sont responsables du budget des certificats et doivent s’assurer que les avocats inscrits sur les listes ne dépassent pas la limite annuelle de facturation. Les Services aux avocats et paiements transmettent aux vice-présidents et aux directeurs régionaux des rapports sur les limites des avocats inscrits sur les listes afin de les aider à s’acquitter de cette responsabilité.


Exemptions


AJO applique strictement la limite de facturation annuelle prescrite par les règlements pris en application de la Loi sur les services d’aide juridique. Dans des circonstances exceptionnelles, AJO pourra considérer une demande d’exemption pour l’application de la limite annuelle de facturation en rapport avec un certificat donné. Vous devez adresser votre demande d’exemption par écrit au directeur des Services aux avocats et paiements, avec copie au directeur régional, en fournissant suffisamment de détails pour permettre à AJO de prendre une décision. Le directeur examinera votre demande, en consultant le directeur régional, et fera une recommandation au vice-président régional et au président.

Le président a le pouvoir d’accorder une exemption. Néanmoins, les exemptions sont accordées rarement et à une seule occasion pour s’assurer qu’une limite raisonnable s’applique à la facturation annuelle et que la qualité du service n’est pas compromise. On s’attend à ce que les avocats examinent leurs factures régulièrement et ajustent leur travail en conséquence, y compris en n’acceptant pas de nouveaux certificats, afin d’éviter de dépasser leur limite annuelle. Si vous dépassez cette limite, votre travail pourrait ne pas être payé.

Le président pourra prendre en compte les facteurs suivants pour décider d’accorder ou non une exemption :

  • Quel est le « profil » de l’avocat inscrit sur la liste et quelle est l’opinion de la personne responsable de la liste (en général, le directeur régional) concernant la demande? (Dans ce contexte, par « profil », on entend des facteurs comme le respect des exigences administratives relatives à la facturation, la participation bénévole à des activités d’AJO, les efforts déployés pour limiter les dépenses de l’aide juridique, etc.)
  • Est-ce la première fois que cet avocat demande une exemption?
  • La demande résulte-t-elle du volume de travail de l’avocat ou d’autres facteurs?
  • L’avocat fournit-il des services à des clients difficiles à servir (p. ex., des personnes souffrant de troubles mentaux), pour lesquels le nombre de fournisseurs de services est faible?
  • Combien d’heures ou d'honoraires supplémentaires sont demandés?
  • Est-ce nécessaire pour représenter le client?
  • Le dépassement de la limite annuelle résulte-t-il en partie de circonstances imprévisibles? (P. ex., un partenaire du cabinet d’avocats tombé malade au milieu d’un procès de longue durée.)
  • Quelles mesures l’avocat a-t-il prises pour gérer un volume élevé de services d’aide juridique sans dépasser la limite annuelle?
  • Y a-t-il des preuves d’une entente écrite ou d’un contrat entre AJO et l’avocat qui autorise le dépassement de la limite annuelle?

Appel d'une demande d'exemption


La décision du président est sans appel.


Rapports


Les Services aux avocats et paiements fourniront des rapports périodiques aux vice-présidents régionaux et aux directeurs régionaux concernant les avocats qui approchent de la limite annuelle de facturation.

De plus, les Services aux avocats et paiements fourniront au Comité de direction et au conseil d’administration d’AJO un rapport annuel sur la limite de facturation annuelle, y compris le nombre d’avocats qui a atteint cette limite et le nombre de demandes d’exemptions présentées.


Soutien


Un avis est envoyé aux avocats lorsqu’ils atteignent 50 %, 75 %, 90 % et 100 % de la limite annuelle de facturation. Les avocats ont la responsabilité de faire le suivi de leur facturation à l’aide juridique, étant donné qu’ils sont les mieux placés pour connaître le montant qu’ils ont facturé et le montant qu’AJO leur a versé. Ils doivent prendre toutes les mesures nécessaires pour s’assurer de ne pas dépasser la limite annuelle de facturation.

Ils peuvent vérifier leur facturation annuelle au moyen d’Aide juridique en ligne. Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant la limite de facturation annuelle, veuillez appeler le Centre d’aide aux avocats. Centre d’aide aux avocats : 416 979-9934 ou 1 866-979-9934