Getting legal help

Types of help

Legal Aid Ontario provides many programs and services to help low-income people who need legal aid. You must be financially eligible to qualify for these services, and your legal matter must be one that Legal Aid Ontario covers. Our programs and services include the following.

Toll-free telephone services

Call Legal Aid Ontario toll-free to speak to legal aid staff, and access a wide range of legal aid services, information and advice. Help is available Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. The best time to call is between 9 a.m. 10 a.m.

Duty counsel services

Duty counsel are lawyers who give immediate legal assistance to low-income people appearing in court without a lawyer. If you have a criminal or family law issue, you should speak to duty counsel before your court appearance. Duty counsel can:

  • give advice about legal rights, obligations and the court process;
  • provide assistance in the courtroom for bail hearings and sentencing;
  • assist with diversion, guilty pleas, and adjournments.

Find out more about how duty counsel can help you.

Courthouse offices

If you need to speak to someone in person, you can talk to a legal aid worker at one of our many courthouse offices. Depending on your legal issue, the legal aid worker may refer you to duty counsel, help you apply for legal aid, or direct you to another service.

Legal aid workers are not available in all courthouses. In some communities, the legal aid office is located outside of the courthouse.

Community and specialty clinics

Legal help is available to low-income people through 76 independent community legal clinics in Ontario, including 17 specialty clinics.

Community legal clinics provide services for legal issues such as:

  • tenant rights
  • Ontario Works and Welfare
  • Ontario Disability Support Program
  • government pensions
  • immigration
  • employment insurance
  • workplace safety and insurance
  • Workers' Compensation
  • employment rights
  • criminal injuries compensation
  • human rights

Contact a community legal clinic directly to see if you are eligible for their services.

Representation by a lawyer the certificate program

Legal Aid Ontarios certificate program covers the cost of a lawyer. You can apply for the certificate program if you are financially eligible, and your legal matter is covered by LAO. The certificate acts as a voucher, guaranteeing that the lawyer will be paid to represent you for a certain number of hours. Certificates are only for the most serious cases; for example, for criminal charges where a jail sentence is likely, or serious family problems.

Lawyers who represent legal aid clients must belong to the panel(s) for the type(s) of law they practice. Ontario had 5,007 panel lawyers eligible to take certificates, as of Sept. 25, 2014. The chart below shows how many lawyers were on each panel, as of Sept. 25, 2014. Please note that lawyers can serve on more than one panel.

Panel lawyers

Type of panel

Number of lawyers

Administrative Board / Tribunal 1,097
Consent & Capacity Board 345
Complex Criminal Rate 116
Child and Family Services Act 1,415
Civil litigation 1,206
Collaborative family law 22
Criminal 2,850
Extremely serious matters 861
Family 2,287
Gladue 1,361
Mental health 183
OConnor Mills 165
Ontario Review Board 563
Other duty counsel 5
Refugee 668

Number of certificates issued 2009 to 2014, by area of law

Area of law


















Immigration & refugee






Other civil






Total certificates issued






Francophone legal advice line

French-speaking clients can now get free, confidential advice and referrals by telephone for many of the legal issues covered by community legal clinics. Advice lines are available in Southwestern Ontario, Eastern Ontario, Northern Ontario and parts of central Ontario, and the Greater Toronto Area.

Find out more about the francophone legal advice lines.

Student Legal Aid Services Societies

Student Legal Aid Services Societies (SLASS), funded by Legal Aid Ontario, operate out of Ontario's six law schools. With the supervision of full-time lawyers, volunteer law students provide legal advice and represent clients in cases such as:

  • minor crimes
  • landlord and tenant issues
  • immigration
  • tribunals, including the Ontario Human Rights Commission.

See the full list of SLASS locations.

Family law services

Family Law Information Centres (FLIC) and advice lawyers

Family Law Information Centres offer free assistance and information on family law issues.

At the FLIC, you can find brochures and information about family law in Ontario, or speak with an advice lawyer. These are lawyers who provide general legal advice, and can help with preparing documents.

See a complete list of the FLIC offices.

Family Law Service Centres

Family Law Service Centres (FLSCs) offer eligible clients a range of legal resources and support for family matters, including:

  • help with documents
  • referrals to advice counsel
  • full representation in family law cases by a staff lawyer
  • referral to a private lawyer who does legal aid work, if eligible
  • mediation and settlement conferences.

Find out more about Family Law Service Centres.

Legal Aid Ontario law offices

Legal Aid Ontario funds a refugee law office, staffed by lawyers and support staff who can help eligible clients with their legal aid issues. Free online legal information resource

LawFacts is a free online legal information resource for individuals with questions about criminal law in Ontario.

If you’re going to criminal court for the first time, have a loved-one who has been arrested, or simply want to know more about criminal law, LawFacts can help explain in plain-language many aspects of criminal law.

LawFacts does not provide legal advice, and is not a substitute for advice from your lawyer or duty counsel, but it will help explain the justice system so that you can make more informed choices about your next steps.

Legal Aid Ontario (LAO), an independent but publicly funded and publicly accountable non-profit corporation. None of this material may be commercially reproduced, but copying for other purposes, with credit, is encouraged.

© 1998-2016 Legal Aid Ontario, all rights reserved

Privacy Policy  |  Accountability  |  Disclaimer

Obtenir de l'aide juridique

Services offerts

Aide juridique Ontario offre un certain nombre de programmes et services pour aider les personnes à faible revenu qui ont besoin d'aide juridique. Pour obtenir de l'aide juridique, le client doit répondre aux critères financiers en matière d'admissibilité et sa cause doit faire partie de celles dont s'occupe Aide juridique Ontario. Les programmes et services d'aide juridique sont décrits ci-dessous :

Services téléphoniques sans frais

Les clients peuvent appeler Aide juridique Ontario sans frais pour parler à un représentant de l'aide juridique et accéder à une vaste gamme de services d'aide juridique ainsi qu'à des renseignements et des conseils. Les services téléphoniques sont offerts du lundi au vendredi de 8 h à 17 h. Le meilleur moment pour appeler se situe entre 9 h et 10 h.

Avocats de service

Les avocats de services sont des avocats qui apportent une aide immédiate aux personnes à faible revenu qui se présentent au tribunal sans avocat. Si le problème auquel vous faites face relève du droit criminel ou du droit de la famille, parlez avec un avocat de service avant votre comparution.

Pour en savoir plus sur l'aide que peut vous apporter un avocat de service.

Cliniques communautaires et spécialisées

En Ontario, les personnes à faible revenu peuvent obtenir une aide juridique auprès de l'une des 72 cliniques juridiques communautaires indépendantes, y compris 17 cliniques spécialisées.

Les cliniques juridiques communautaires fournissent des services dans les situations touchant, par exemple :

  • Les droits des locataires;
  • Le programme Ontario au travail et l'aide sociale;
  • Le Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées;
  • Les régimes de retraite gouvernementaux;
  • L'immigration;
  • L'Assurance-emploi;
  • La sécurité professionnelle et l'assurance contre les accidents du travail;
  • L'indemnisation des travailleurs accidentés;
  • Le droit du travail;
  • L'indemnisation des victimes d'actes criminels;
  • Les droits de la personne.

Communiquez avec une clinique juridique communautaire pour déterminer votre admissibilité à ses services.

Représentation par un avocat – le programme de certificats

Le programme de certificats d'Aide juridique Ontario couvre les honoraires d'un avocat. Si vous êtes financièrement admissible et que votre cause est l'une de celles dont s'occupe Aide juridique Ontario, vous pourrez faire une demande de certificat. Un certificat d'aide juridique garantit à l'avocat du secteur privé qu'il sera payé pour des services de représentation pendant un nombre d'heures déterminé. Les certificats ne sont accordés que dans le cas des affaires les plus graves; par exemple, pour les affaires criminelles lorsqu'il y a de fortes probabilités d'incarcération ou pour des problèmes en droit de la famille graves.

Ligne téléphonique de conseils juridiques à l'intention des Francophones

Les clients francophones ont maintenant accès gratuitement à un service téléphonique confidentiel d'avis juridique et d'orientation touchant un bon nombre de questions juridiques traitées par les cliniques juridiques communautaires. Les lignes téléphoniques de conseils juridiques desservent le Sud-Ouest de l'Ontario, l'Est de l'Ontario, le Nord de l'Ontario, certaines régions du Centre de l'Ontario ainsi que la région du Grand Toronto.

Pour en savoir plus sur les conseils juridiques en français par téléphone.

Sociétés étudiantes d'aide juridique

Les sociétés étudiantes d'aide juridique (SEAJ), financées par Aide juridique Ontario, exercent leurs activités dans les six facultés de droit de l'Ontario. Sous la supervision d'avocats à plein temps, des étudiants bénévoles de ces facultés de droit offrent des conseils juridiques et représentent des clients dans des causes en rapport avec ce qui suit :

  • Délits mineurs;
  • Litiges opposant locateurs et locataires;
  • Immigration;
  • Dossiers portés devant les tribunaux administratifs, telle la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne.

Pour obtenir les coordonnées des SEAJ.

Services en droit de la famille

Centres d'information sur le droit de la famille (CIDF) et avocats-conseils

Vous pouvez obtenir de l'aide au Centre d'information sur le droit de la famille du palais de justice si vous êtes admissible à ce service. Les avocats de l'aide juridique (appelés avocats‑conseil) peuvent vous donner jusqu'à concurrence de 20 minutes de conseils généraux gratuits. Les avocats‑conseils peuvent aussi vous renvoyer à un centre de services de droit de la famille. S'il n'y pas d'avocat‑conseil disponible, vous trouverez divers dépliants et fiches de renseignements qui vous expliqueront comment procéder.

Pour consulter la liste des CIDF.

Centres de services de droit de la famille

Les centres de services de droit de la famille (CSDF) offrent aux clients admissibles une foule de ressources juridiques et du soutien en ce qui concerne des affaires de droit de la famille. Par exemple :

  • De l'assistance pour remplir les documents;
  • Des renvois à des avocats-conseils;
  • Des services de représentation dans des cas de droit de la famille par un avocat salarié d'Aide juridique Ontario;
  • Des renvois à un avocat du secteur privé qui accepte des certificats, si le client est admissible à ce service;
  • Des services de médiation et conférences en vue d'un règlement amiable.

Pour en savoir plus sur les Centres de services de droit de la famille.

Bureaux d'Aide juridique Ontario en droit des réfugiés

Aide juridique Ontario finance un bureau du droit des réfugiés. Ce bureau est doté d'avocats et de personnel de soutien qui peuvent aider les clients admissibles à régler leurs questions juridiques.

Faitsdedroit.ca : Source en ligne gratuite de renseignements juridiques

Faitsdedroit est une source en ligne gratuite de renseignements juridiques à l'intention des individus qui s'interrogent sur le droit pénal en Ontario.

Que vous deviez comparaître devant un tribunal pénal pour la première fois, qu'un proche ait été arrêté ou que vous aimeriez tout simplement en savoir davantage sur le droit pénal, Faitsdedroit pourra vous expliquer en langue simple plusieurs aspects du droit pénal.

Faitsdedroit n'est pas conçu pour donner des conseils juridiques ou pour remplacer les conseils d'un avocat ou d'un avocat de service, mais il vous aidera à comprendre le système de justice de sorte que vous puissiez faire des choix éclairés concernant la prochaine étape.


^