Getting legal help

LAO Client Portal Terms and Conditions
(“Terms of Use”)

Please read these Terms of Use carefully before using the LAO Client Portal (“Portal”).

Your access to and use of the Portal is based on your acceptance of and compliance with these Terms of Use. These Terms of Use apply to all visitors, users, and any others who access or use the Portal. By accessing or using the Portal you agree to be bound by these Terms of Use.

Effective Date

  1. The Terms of Use is effective as of December 3rd, 2018.

Terms of Use

  1. Your use of the Portal is governed by the Terms of Use. The Terms of Use explain both your obligations and LAO’s obligations regarding the Portal.

Electronic Notices

  1. You agree that all notices to you may be delivered by electronic communication to the email address in your account profile. LAO is not liable for notices or other communications that you may not receive because your email address is not current or is invalid. You are required to promptly update any changes to your email address by contacting LAO at 1-800-668-8258. If you do not want to receive notifications electronically, PLEASE DO NOT USE THE PORTAL.

Accuracy of Information You Provide

  1. You will use the Portal only with your user ID and password and you will not impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your identity or any information you submit to the Portal. You agree to provide accurate, current, and complete information about yourself, and as permitted, to maintain and update the Portal promptly to keep it accurate, current and complete. You are responsible for reviewing the information on your Portal account to ensure it is accurate, complete, and current, and agree to immediately notify LAO upon becoming aware of any inaccuracies or incompleteness.

Security of Login Information Obligations

  1. You are responsible for maintaining the security of your user ID and password and ensuring that you are the only person using them. You agree to not disclose your user ID and password to any other person. You agree to notify LAO immediately upon becoming aware of any unauthorized or suspected unauthorized use of your user ID and password. LAO is not liable for any loss or damage arising from failing to comply with the obligations in the Terms of Use.

No Unlawful or Prohibited Use

  1. You agree to use the Portal solely for personal and lawful purposes and in accordance with the Terms of Use and any other terms posted on the Portal. As a condition to accessing and using the Portal, you must:
    1. not attempt to undermine the security or integrity of LAO’s computing systems or networks, or where the Portal is hosted by a third party, that third party’s computing system and networks
    2. not use or misuse, the Portal in any way which may impair the functionality of the Portal or LAO’s websites, or other systems used to deliver the Portal or impair the ability of any other user to use the Portal or LAO’s websites
    3. not attempt to gain unauthorized access to any materials other than those to which you have been given express permission to access
    4. not transmit, or input into the Portal or LAO websites, any files that may damage any other person’s computing devices or software
    5. not attempt to modify, copy, adapt, reproduce, disassemble, decompile or reverse engineer any computer programs used to deliver the Portal or to operate the website except as is strictly necessary to use either of them for normal operation

Privacy and Your Information

  1. LAO is subject to the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (“FIPPA”) which governs the collection, use and disclosure of your personal information. LAO’s Privacy Policy describes our information and privacy practices. That policy can be accessed at: https://www.legalaid.on.ca/en/privacy/default.asp. Personal information is collected under the authority of s.84 of the Legal Aid Services Act, 1998. LAO collects and uses personal information in the Portal to: i) determine eligibility for legal aid services, ii) to administer and deliver legal aid services, iii) to gather statistical information about legal aid services, and iv) for other purposes disclosed at the time you provide personal information. If you have questions or concerns regarding the collection and use of your personal information, contact the LAO FIPPA Coordinator at: Legal Aid Ontario, 40 Dundas St. W., Suite 200, Toronto, ON M5G 2H1 or by email at: fippa@lao.on.ca.

Security of Personal Information

  1. You must maintain copies of all information inputted into the Portal. LAO does not make any guarantees that there will be no loss of information. No data transmission over the Internet can be guaranteed as totally secure. While we strive to protect such information, we do not warrant and cannot ensure the security of any information which you transmit to us. Accordingly, any information which you transmit to us is transmitted at your own risk.

Portal Content

  1. The Portal and information on the Portal, including but not limited to logos, text, graphics, images, downloadable content and links to other internet resources (the “Site Information”) are protected by copyright, trademark, or other proprietary rights and laws. All right, title and interest in and to the Site Information is the property of LAO or its licensors. Unless otherwise specified, the Site Information may not be copied, displayed, communicated, distributed, reproduced or republished, in any form, without advance express written consent from LAO.

Links to Other Sites

  1. The Portal may provide links to other web sites and resources that are maintained and/or controlled by third parties and not by LAO (“Third Party Web Site”). Your dealings with such Third Party Web Sites are solely between you and such third parties. LAO does not endorse, is not responsible for, and makes no representations or warranties of any kind with respect to, the content, condition, products, services, personal information practices, ownership, or legality of any such linked Third Party Web Site unless expressly stated by us. Your use of such Third Party Web Sites is subject to the terms and conditions established by such third parties, and we encourage you to review their user terms and privacy policies before you use their services. You agree that LAO is not responsible or liable, directly or indirectly, for any loss or damage of any kind caused or alleged to be caused by or in connection with such Third Party Web Sites.

Disclaimers

  1. LAO does not guarantee uninterrupted or error-free operation of the Portal. You understand and agree that the Portal is provided on an “as-is”, “as available” basis “with all faults” and without representation or warranty of any kind, either express or implied including, without limitation, any implied warranties that access to the Portal will be uninterrupted, timely or secure. To the fullest extent permitted by applicable law, LAO expressly disclaims all warranties, representations, and undertakings of any kind, whether express or implied. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, LAO makes no warranty as to the accuracy, quality or completeness of the contents of the Portal or information provided through the Portal, nor to merchantability or fitness for a particular purpose, nor to title or non-infringement, nor to the absence of any software virus or other harmful component. LAO does not warrant that the Portal or the delivery, hosting and ancillary services or facilities of third party suppliers utilized by the Society will continue to operate, will operate without interruptions or will be error-free. LAO does not warrant any third party materials, services, support, products, applications or licensed software supplied by parties other than LAO. LAO does not represent or endorse the accuracy or reliability of any: i) Third Party Web Sites, or the content and condition of such web-pages or ii) information provided by third parties on the Portal. LAO does not warrant that the Portal or the delivery, hosting and ancillary services or facilities or third party supplies utilized by LAO will continue to operate, will operate without interruptions or will be error-free.

Limitation of Liability

  1. You agree that LAO is not liable to you for any loss or damages of any kind (including, without limitation, any direct, special, indirect, incidental, exemplary, consequential, economic, or punitive damages), whether based in tort, contract, strict liability or otherwise, including without limitation, any loss or damages arising from or in any way connected with or relating to your use of this Portal under your user ID and password, your use of, access to or your reliance on, or your inability to use or access the Portal, any contents of the Portal, or any delivery, hosting and ancillary services or facilities of third party supplies utilized by LAO. LAO is not responsible and assumes no liability for third party contents of the Portal or third party information provided through the Portal.

Indemnity

  1. To the extent allowed by applicable law, you agree to defend, indemnify and hold harmless LAO and any of its directors, officers, employees, affiliates, consultants, representatives, contractors, licensors, licensees, and agents from and against any and all third party claims and demands and all liabilities, assessments, losses, costs or damages resulting from or arising out of or related to the Portal, or any breach by you of the Terms of Use and any other terms applicable to your access and use of the Portal, including the cost of defending or settling any action, claim or demand.

Modification or Suspension of the Portal or Access

  1. LAO reserves the right, in its sole discretion, to modify or discontinue the Portal, or any Portion of the Portal, without notice to you. LAO may also, in its sole discretion, refuse or restrict anyone from access to the entire Portal or any portion of the Portal.

Changes to Terms of Use

  1. LAO reserves the right, at our sole discretion, to modify, make changes to, or replace the Terms of Use from time to time. You are responsible for checking the Portal periodically for the most current Terms of Use. The effective date of the Terms of Use will be set out. Your continued access to and use of the Portal following the posting of new Terms of Use constitute your acceptance of and agreement to the new Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the new Terms of Use, in whole or in part, please stop using the Portal.

Changes to the Portal

  1. LAO may terminate, change, suspend or discontinue any aspect of the Portal at any time without notice. LAO reserves the right, but does not have a duty, to correct any errors or omissions in any portion of the Portal at any time without notice.

Governing Law

  1. The Terms of Use shall be governed by the laws of the Province of Ontario, the federal laws of Canada and international copyright laws. You agree to submit to the jurisdiction of the Province of Ontario for any and all disputes, claims and actions arising out of this agreement.

Termination

  1. The Terms of Use are a condition to accessing and using the Portal and you cannot use the Portal unless you agree to the Terms of Use. You may withdraw your consent to the Terms of Use at any time by contacting LAO at 1-800-668-8258.

Contact Information

  1. If you have any questions or concerns with respect to the Terms of Use or the Portal, you may contact LAO at 1-800-668-8258.

Acceptance

  1. By checking the box labelled “I agree”, you accept and agree without modification, the Terms of Use. By logging onto the Portal you acknowledge that you have read and understood the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, do not access the Portal.
^

Conditions de l’Espace client d’AJO
(« conditions d’utilisation »)

Veuillez lire attentivement les conditions d’utilisation avant d’utiliser l’Espace client d’AJO.

Vous pouvez accéder à l’Espace client ou l’utiliser si vous acceptez et respectez les conditions d’utilisation. Les conditions d’utilisation s’appliquent à quiconque accède à l’Espace client ou l’utilise, y compris tout visiteur ou utilisateur. En accédant à l’Espace client ou en l’utilisant, vous acceptez d’être lié(e) par les conditions d’utilisation.

Date d’entrée en vigueur

  1. Les conditions d’utilisation sont entrées en vigueur le 3 décembre 2018.

Conditions d’utilisation

  1. Les conditions d’utilisation régissent votre utilisation de l’Espace client. Elles décrivent à la fois vos obligations et celles d’AJO relativement à l’Espace client.

Avis électroniques

  1. Vous acceptez que tout avis qui vous est destiné soit communiqué électroniquement à l’adresse de courriel indiquée dans le profil de votre compte. AJO n’est pas responsable si un avis ou une autre communication ne vous parvient pas parce que votre adresse de courriel n’est pas à jour ou valide. Vous devez sans délai communiquer tout changement d’adresse de courriel à AJO au 1 800 668-8258. Si vous ne voulez pas recevoir d’avis électroniques, VEUILLEZ VOUS ABSTENIR D’UTILISER L’ESPACE CLIENT.

Exactitude des renseignements que vous fournissez

  1. Vous n’utiliserez l’Espace client qu’à l’aide de votre code d’utilisateur et de votre mot de passe; vous ne vous ferez pas passer pour autrui et vous ne communiquerez pas à l’Espace client de faux renseignements, notamment sur votre identité. Vous acceptez de fournir des renseignements exacts, à jour et complets sur vous-même et, dans la mesure permise, de tenir à jour l’Espace client sans délai de façon qu’ils restent exacts, à jour et complets. Vous avez la responsabilité d’examiner les renseignements associés à votre compte de l’Espace client pour vous assurer qu’ils sont exacts, complets et à jour, et vous acceptez d’aviser immédiatement AJO si vous apprenez que des renseignements sont inexacts ou incomplets.

Obligations relatives à la sécurité des renseignements d’accès

  1. Vous avez la responsabilité d’assurer la sécurité de votre code d’utilisateur et de votre mot de passe, et de veiller à être la seule personne qui les utilise. Vous acceptez de ne divulguer à personne votre code d’utilisateur et votre mot de passe. Vous acceptez d’aviser immédiatement AJO si vous apprenez ou soupçonnez que votre code d’utilisateur ou votre mot de passe a été utilisé sans autorisation. AJO n’est pas responsable des pertes ou des dommages découlant du défaut de respecter les obligations des conditions d’utilisation.

Aucune utilisation illégale ou interdite

  1. Vous acceptez de n’utiliser l’Espace client qu’à des fins personnelles et légales, selon les conditions d’utilisation et toute autre condition affichée sur l’Espace client Vous pouvez accéder à l’Espace client et l’utiliser à condition :
    1. de ne pas tenter de miner la sécurité ou l’intégrité des systèmes et des réseaux informatiques d’AJO ou, si l’Espace client est hébergé par un tiers, de ceux de ce tiers;
    2. de ne pas utiliser, notamment abusivement, l’Espace client d’une manière qui pourrait nuire à sa fonctionnalité ou à celle des sites Web d’AJO ou d’autres systèmes servant à rendre disponible l’Espace client, ou qui pourrait nuire à la capacité d’autres utilisateurs à utiliser l’Espace client ou les sites Web d’AJO;
    3. de ne pas tenter d’obtenir un accès non autorisé à d’autres documents que ceux à l’égard desquels vous avez reçu une autorisation d’accès expresse;
    4. de ne pas communiquer ou incorporer à l’Espace client ou aux sites Web d’AJO des fichiers pouvant endommager les appareils informatiques ou les logiciels d’autrui;
    5. de ne pas tenter de modifier, de copier, d’adapter, de reproduire, de désassembler, de décompiler ou de rétroconcevoir un programme informatique servant à rendre disponible l’Espace client ou à faire fonctionner le site Web, sauf dans la mesure où cela est strictement nécessaire pour les utiliser normalement.

La protection de la vie privée et vos renseignements

  1. AJO est assujettie à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée (« LAIPVP »), qui régit la collecte, l’utilisation et la divulgation de vos renseignements personnels. La politique de protection de la vie privée d’AJO décrit ses pratiques en matière d’information et de protection de la vie privée. Vous trouverez cette politique à www.legalaid.on.ca/fr/privacy/default.asp. Les renseignements personnels sont recueillis en vertu de l’art. 84 de la Loi de 1998 sur les services d’aide juridique. AJO recueille et utilise les renseignements personnels incorporés à l’Espace client : i) pour déterminer l’admissibilité aux services d’aide juridique, ii) pour administrer et fournir des services d’aide juridique, iii) pour recueillir des données statistiques sur les services d’aide juridique et iv) aux autres fins précisées lorsque vous fournissez des renseignements personnels. Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations concernant la collecte et l’utilisation de vos renseignements personnels, écrivez au coordonnateur de la LAIPVP d’AJO à : Aide juridique Ontario, 40, rue Dundas O., bureau 200, Toronto ON M5G 2H1 ou par courriel à fippa@lao.on.ca.

Sécurité des renseignements personnels

  1. Vous devez garder des copies de tous les renseignements incorporés à l’Espace client. AJO ne garantit aucunement qu’il n’y aura pas de perte d’information. Il est impossible de garantir la sécurité totale de la transmission de données par Internet. Bien que nous nous efforcions de protéger ces renseignements, nous ne garantissons ni ne pouvons assurer la sécurité des renseignements que vous nous transmettez. Par conséquent, vous nous transmettez tout renseignement à vos propres risques.

Contenu de l’Espace client

  1. L’Espace client et l’information qu’il contient, notamment les logos, le texte, les graphiques, les images, le contenu téléchargeable et les liens menant à d’autres ressources d’Internet (« information du site ») sont protégés par les droits et les lois concernant la propriété, y compris le droit d’auteur et les marques de commerce. Tous les droits, les titres et les intérêts liés à l’information du site appartiennent à AJO ou à ses concédants. Sauf indication contraire, l’information du site ne doit pas être copiée, affichée, communiquée, distribuée, reproduite ni republiée sous aucune forme sans consentement exprès écrit donné au préalable par AJO.

Liens menant à d’autres sites

  1. L’Espace client peut contenir des liens menant à d’autres sites et ressources Web qui sont entretenus ou contrôlés par des tiers et non par AJO (« site Web de tiers »). Vos relations avec les sites Web de tiers ne concernent que vous et ces tiers. Sauf déclaration expresse de notre part, AJO n’approuve pas le contenu, l’état, les produits, les services, les pratiques relatives aux renseignements personnels, la propriété ou la légalité des sites Web de tiers et n’est pas responsable ni ne fait aucune assertion ou garantie de quelque nature que ce soit à leur égard. Votre utilisation des sites Web de tiers est assujettie aux conditions fixées par ces tiers; nous vous invitons à examiner leurs conditions d’utilisation et leurs politiques de protection de la vie privée avant d’utiliser leurs services. Vous acceptez qu’AJO n’est pas responsable, directement ou indirectement, des pertes ou des dommages de toute sorte effectivement ou apparemment causés par les sites Web de tiers ou en lien avec eux.

Dénis de responsabilité

  1. AJO ne garantit pas le fonctionnement ininterrompu ou sans erreur de l’Espace client. Vous comprenez et acceptez que l’Espace client est offert tel quel, tel qu’il est disponible et avec tous ses défauts, sans assertion ni garantie expresse ou implicite de quelque nature que ce soit, notamment sans garantie implicite que l’accès à l’Espace client sera ininterrompu, rapide ou sécurisé. Dans la mesure permise par le droit applicable, AJO nie expressément toute garantie ou assertion et tout engagement exprès ou implicites de quelque nature que ce soit. Sans restreindre la généralité de ce qui précède, AJO ne garantit aucunement l’exactitude, la qualité ou l’exhaustivité du contenu dans l’Espace client ou de l’information fournie par l’entremise de l’Espace client, ni la qualité marchande ou l’adaptation à un usage particulier, ni le titre ou l’absence de contrefaçon, ni l’absence d’éléments nuisibles, notamment un virus informatique. AJO ne garantit pas que l’Espace client, les services et installations d’envoi et d’hébergement et les services et installations auxiliaires des tiers fournisseurs utilisés par la Société continueront de fonctionner, fonctionneront sans interruption ou seront exempts d’erreur. AJO ne garantit pas les documents, les services, le soutien, les produits, les applications ni les logiciels sous licence de tiers fournis par d’autres parties qu’AJO. AJO ne confirme ni n’approuve l’exactitude ou la fiabilité i) des sites Web de tiers ou du contenu et de l’état de ces pages Web, ii) de l’information fournie par des tiers sur l’Espace client. AJO ne garantit pas que l’Espace client, les services et installations d’envoi et d’hébergement, les services et installations auxiliaires ou les fournitures de tiers utilisés par AJO continueront de fonctionner, fonctionneront sans interruption ou seront exempts d’erreur.

Limitation de responsabilité

  1. Vous acceptez qu’AJO n’est pas responsable envers vous pour les pertes ou les dommages de toute nature (notamment les dommages directs, particuliers, indirects, consécutifs ou financiers et les dommages-intérêts exemplaires ou punitifs), qu’ils soient ou non fondés en droit, y compris en droit de la responsabilité délictuelle ou stricte et en droit des obligations contractuelles, notamment les pertes ou les dommages découlant de ce qui suit ou s’y rapportant de quelque façon que ce soit : votre utilisation de l’Espace client au moyen de votre code d’utilisateur et de votre mot de passe, ainsi que votre utilisation de l’Espace client, de son contenu, des services et installations d’envoi et d’hébergement, des services et installations auxiliaires ou des fournitures de tiers utilisés par AJO, votre accès à ceux-ci, votre dépendance envers eux ou votre incapacité de les utiliser ou d’y accéder. AJO n’est pas responsable ni n’assume aucune responsabilité à l’égard du contenu de l’Espace client provenant de tiers ou des renseignements de tiers fournis par l’intermédiaire de l’Espace client.

Indemnité

  1. Dans la mesure permise par le droit applicable, vous acceptez de défendre et d’indemniser AJO et ses administrateurs, dirigeants, employés, affiliés, consultants, représentants, entrepreneurs, concédants, titulaires de licence et mandataires à l’égard de toute réclamation ou demande d’un tiers, et de toute obligation, évaluation ou perte et de tout coût ou dommage qui résulte ou découle de l’Espace client ou de votre défaut de respecter les conditions d’utilisation ou les autres conditions applicables à votre utilisation de l’Espace client ou à votre accès à l’Espace client, ou qui s’y rapporte, y compris le coût d’une défense ou d’un règlement liés à une action, à une réclamation ou à une demande.

Modification ou suspension de l’Espace client ou de l’accès

  1. AJO se réserve le droit, à sa discrétion exclusive, de modifier la totalité ou une partie de l’Espace client ou d’y mettre fin sans vous en aviser. AJO peut en outre, à sa discrétion exclusive, refuser ou restreindre l’accès de quiconque à la totalité ou à une partie de l’Espace client.

Modification des conditions d’utilisation

  1. AJO se réserve le droit, à sa discrétion exclusive, de modifier ou de remplacer les conditions d’utilisation le cas échéant. Vous avez la responsabilité de visiter l’Espace client périodiquement pour connaître les conditions d’utilisation à jour. La date d’entrée en vigueur des conditions d’utilisation sera indiquée. En continuant à accéder à l’Espace client ou à l’utiliser après l’affichage de nouvelles conditions d’utilisation, vous les acceptez. Si vous n’acceptez pas la totalité ou une partie des nouvelles conditions d’utilisation, veuillez cesser d’utiliser l’Espace client.

Modification de l’Espace client

  1. AJO peut supprimer, modifier ou suspendre tout aspect de l’Espace client ou y mettre fin n’importe quand sans avis. AJO se réserve le droit mais n’est pas tenue de corriger n’importe quand toute erreur ou omission dans une partie de l’Espace client sans avis.

Droit applicable

  1. Les conditions d’utilisation sont assujetties aux lois de la Province de l’Ontario, aux lois fédérales du Canada et aux lois internationales en matière de droit d’auteur. Vous acceptez d’avoir recours à la compétence de la Province de l’Ontario en cas de litige, de réclamation ou d’action découlant de cette entente.

Résiliation

  1. Vous pouvez accéder à l’Espace client ou l’utiliser conformément aux conditions d’utilisation; vous ne pouvez pas l’utiliser sans les accepter. Vous pouvez retirer votre consentement aux conditions d’utilisation n’importe quand en communiquant avec AJO au 1 800 668-8258.

Coordonnées

  1. Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations concernant les conditions d’utilisation ou l’Espace client, vous pouvez communiquer avec AJO au 1 800 668-8258.

Acceptation

  1. En cochant la case « Je suis d’accord », vous acceptez sans modification les conditions d’utilisation. En ouvrant une session sur l’Espace client, vous confirmez avoir lu et compris les conditions d’utilisation. Si vous n’acceptez pas les conditions d’utilisation, n’accédez pas à l’Espace client.
^