Getting legal help




LAO policies on French language services

Legal Aid Ontario (LAO)s provincial office, departments that serve clients, and offices serving one of Ontarios 25 designated areas, as well as community legal clincis and all other partners LAO contracts with to provide services on its behalf, are required to provide services in French equal in quality to the services provided in English.

In addition, all services available from LAO must be readily available in French. These services may be provided in person, by telephone, through technology and information systems, or in writing.


Active offer


Legal Aid Ontario adheres to the principle of the active offer. It is not the public's responsibility to request the services. The provincial office, departments that serve clients, and offices serving a designated area must provide an active offer of services showing French-speaking customers that services in French are readily available.

The public should be made aware of the availability of services in French through signs, bilingual telephone greetings, website information and French-speaking staff in strategic locations. All materials provided to the public must also be provided in French.

Êtes-vous francophone?

Politique d’AJO en matière de services en français

Getting Legal Help

Le bureau provincial, ses services et tous les bureaux qui desservent une des 25 régions désignées, ainsi que les cliniques juridiques communautaires et toute autre partie à laquelle AJO octroie un contrat visant la prestation de services en son nom, sont tenus de fournir des services en français de qualité égale à ceux qu’ils fournissent en anglais.

En outre, tous les services offerts par Aide juridique Ontario doivent être aussi facilement accessibles en français qu’en anglais. Ces services peuvent être fournis en personne, par téléphone, par l’entremise de la technologie et des systèmes informatiques ou par écrit.


Offre active


Aide juridique Ontario souscrit au principe de l’offre active. Ce n’est pas la responsabilité des individus de demander des services en français. Il incombe au bureau provincial, à ses services et à tous les bureaux qui desservent une région désignée de fournir une offre active des services en montrant aux clients francophones que les services leur sont accessibles en français.

Le public doit être averti que les services sont accessibles en français au moyen d’affiches, de l’accueil bilingue au téléphone, des renseignements sur le site Web et du personnel francophone dans les endroits stratégiques. Tous les documents produits pour le public doivent également être produits en français.