Getting legal help




Why is it important to tell your lawyer you are Aboriginal?

Why do we ask if you self-identify as First Nations, Mtis or Inuit?


It is important that you, as First Nations people, Mtis people and Inuit people self-identify your Aboriginal ancestry. Legal Aid Ontario asks that you do this regardless if you live on or off-reserve, if you are status or non-status, or if you live in a rural or an urban area.

It is important to identify yourself as an Aboriginal person so that your lawyer or duty counsel can follow the areas of law that deal with Aboriginal rights. For example, the Criminal Code, the Youth Criminal Justice Act and the Child and Family Service Act all have parts that consider the unique legal status of Aboriginal people in Canada.


How Canadian law treats Aboriginal people

Our goal in collecting this information is to compile accurate statistics and information so that we can better serve the legal needs of clients, and make sure suitable services are available.

The Constitution Act of 1982 clearly says that "aboriginal peoples of Canada" include "the Indian, Inuit and Mtis peoples of Canada." Legal Aid Ontario wants to ensure that it is providing appropriate legal representation to people who come within this constitutional definition.


The Criminal Code and Youth Criminal Justice Act

The Criminal Code of Canada addresses over-representation of Aboriginal people in the Canadian criminal justice system in Section 718.2 (e), which recognizes the need to consider additional factors when sentencing an Aboriginal offender. Section 38 (2)(d) of the Youth Criminal Justice Act is about sentencing principles that apply to young Aboriginal offenders.

These sections provide direction to judges when sentencing an offender and require the court to remember that:

  • All available sanctions other than imprisonment that are reasonable in the circumstances should be considered for all offenders, with particular attention to the circumstances of Aboriginal offenders.

The courts have decided in cases like Gladue and others that the factors a judge should consider when sentencing an Aboriginal offender include "the unique background and systemic factors, which may have played a part in bringing the particular offender before the courts."

If you are convicted of a crime, intend to plead guilty to an offence or if you are seeking bail, your lawyer or duty counsel will have to ask you questions regarding your background to be able to explain to the court what principles should be considered in your case.


Child and Family Service Act

If you find yourself in a child welfare situation, parts of the Child and Family Service Act take into account the family's Aboriginal culture and heritage in deciding the "best interests" of a child. For example, subsection 37(4) states:

The child is an Indian or Native person, the person shall take into consideration the importance, in recognition of the uniqueness of Indian and Native culture, heritage and traditions, of preserving the child's cultural identity.

Another section of the Act recognizes that Aboriginal people should be entitled whenever possible, to provide their own child and family services, and that all services to Aboriginal children and families "should be provided in a manner that recognizes their culture, heritage and traditions and the concept of the extended family."


Other considerations your lawyer may need to take into account

It is important to tell Legal Aid Ontario and your lawyer that you are Aboriginal so that if you are interested, and there are available options, your lawyer can refer you to Aboriginal Community Justice Programs or other Aboriginal service providers.

Information on your background also allows your lawyer to assess whether the Indian Act affects your legal matter. For example, if you live on-reserve, your rights to property you owned in marriage may be different than non-Aboriginal people in Ontario.


Contact information

Legal Aid Ontario
Toll-free: 1-800-668-8258 | Toronto: 416-979-1446

Nishnawbe-Aski Legal Services Corporation (NALSC)
Toll free: 1-800-465-5581
Thunder Bay: 807-622-1413

Aboriginal Legal Services of Toronto (ALST)
Toronto: 416-408-3967

Obtenir de l'aide juridique

Pourquoi est-il important d'annoncer à votre avocat que vous êtes autochtone?

Getting Legal Help

Aboriginal Brochure

Pourquoi est-il important d'annoncer à votre avocat que vous êtes autochtone?


Le Tribunal Gladue

Qu'est-ce le Tribunal Gladue?
C'est un tribunal conçu pour entendre les causes des délinquants autochtones et où la détermination de la peine tient compte des traditions des peuples autochtones.
» Pour en savoir plus
   (en anglais seulement)

Pourquoi demandons-nous si vous vous considérez comme appartenant aux peuples Métis, Inuit ou des Premières nations?


Il est important que vous en tant que membre des peuples Métis, Inuit ou des Premières nations, vous nous indiquiez votre héritage autochtone. Aide juridique Ontario vous demande de le faire, que vous viviez ou non dans une réserve, que vous ayez ou non le statut d'Indien, que vous viviez dans une région rurale ou urbaine.

Il est important que vous vous identifiiez comme appartenant au peuple autochtone pour que votre avocat ou l'avocat de service puisse appliquer les dispositions qui concernent les circonstances ou les droits des Autochtones. Par exemple, le Code criminel, la Loi sur le système de justice pénale pour les adolescents et la Loi sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille contiennent des dispositions qui traitent du statut juridique unique des peuples autochtones au Canada.


Comment le droit canadien traite-t-il les peuples autochtones?

Notre intention est de compiler des statistiques et renseignements exacts afin de mieux répondre aux besoins juridiques des clients et de faire en sorte que les services appropriés sont offerts.

La Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 stipule clairement que les peuples autochtones du Canada comprennent les peuples Indiens, Métis et Inuit du Canada. AJO veut s'assurer qu'elle offre des services et une représentation juridiques adéquats aux gens qui entrent dans cette définition constitutionnelle.


Le Code criminel et la Loi sur le système de justice pénale pour les adolescents

Le Code criminel du Canada aborde la question de la surreprésentation des peuples autochtones dans le système de justice pénale du Canada au paragraphe 718.2 (e) qui reconnaît le besoin de tenir compte de facteurs additionnels dans la détermination de la peine imposable à un délinquant autochtone. L'alinéa 38 (2) (d) de la Loi sur le système de justice pénale pour les adolescents énonce des principes de détermination de la peine qui s'appliquent aux jeunes délinquants autochtones.

Ces dispositions guident les juges au moment de déterminer la peine d'un délinquant et obligent les tribunaux à se souvenir du principe selon lequel il convient de procéder à :

  • « l'examen de toutes les sanctions substitutives applicables qui sont justifiées dans les circonstances, plus particulièrement en ce qui concerne les délinquants autochtones. »

Les tribunaux ont décidé, dans des causes comme l'affaire Gladue, entre autres, que les facteurs qu'un juge devrait prendre en considération au moment de déterminer la peine d'un délinquant autochtone comprennent les « facteurs historiques et systémiques particuliers qui ont pu contribuer à ce que ce délinquant soit traduit devant les tribunaux ».

Si vous êtes reconnu(e) coupable d'un acte criminel, que vous avez l'intention de plaider coupable à une infraction ou que vous cherchez à obtenir une libération sous caution, votre avocat ou un avocat de service devra vous poser des questions sur votre patrimoine pour qu'il puisse expliquer au tribunal les principes auxquels il devrait prêter attention dans votre affaire.


Loi sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille(LSEF)

Dans les instances en matière de protection de l'enfance, le paragraphe 37 (4) de la Loi sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille prend en considération les facteurs culturels pour déterminer « l'intérêt véritable » de l'enfant. Il faut tenir compte du patrimoine de l'enfant dans le cas suivant :

« La personne tenue, en application de la présente partie, de rendre une ordonnance ou de prendre une décision dans l'intérêt véritable d'un enfant Indien ou autochtone tient compte de l'importance de maintenir l'identité culturelle de l'enfant en reconnaissance du caractère unique que revêtent la culture, le patrimoine et les traditions propres aux Indiens et aux autochtones. »

Une autre disposition de la Loi reconnaît que « les populations indiennes et autochtones devraient avoir le droit de fournir, dans la mesure du possible, leurs propres services à l'enfance et à la famille, et que tous les services fournis aux familles et aux enfants indiens et autochtones devraient l'être d'une façon qui tient compte de leur culture, de leur patrimoine, de leurs traditions et du concept de la famille élargie ».


Autres facteurs dont votre avocat pourrait avoir besoin de tenir compte

Il est important d'informer AJO et votre avocat de votre appartenance au peuple autochtone pour que votre avocat puisse, si vous le souhaitez et si c'est possible, vous orienter vers des programmes de justice communautaires pour les Autochtones ou d'autres fournisseurs de services aux Autochtones.

Des renseignements sur votre patrimoine permettraient aussi à votre avocat de savoir si la Loi sur les Indiens a une incidence sur votre problème juridique. Par exemple, si vous vivez dans une réserve, les droits sur des biens que vous possédez dans le cadre de votre mariage peuvent être différents des droits dont dispose la population non autochtone de l'Ontario.


Renseignements

Aide juridique Ontario
Centre de service à la clientèle : Sans frais : 1-800-668-8258 | Toronto : 416-979-1446

Nishnawbe-Aski Legal Services Corporation (NALSC)
Sans frais : 1 800 465-5581
Thunder Bay : 807 622-1413

Aboriginal Legal Services of Toronto (ALST)
Toronto : 416 408-3967