Careers at LAO

Benefits of working at LAO

Throughout the province, low-income Ontarians depend on legal aid to ensure they have access to justice when they need it. Last year, Legal Aid Ontario (LAO) assisted over one million people through the community legal clinic system, duty counsel programs, the legal aid certificate program, as well as in-house family and refugee legal services.

LAO offers a range of legal career opportunities for people interested in contributing to its important mandate. Legal positions range from staff lawyer in our criminal, family or refugee law offices, to duty counsel, to ground-breaking policy/research work.

Here at LAO, we believe in providing a positive and supportive work environment for our employees. We strive to provide a fair compensation package, opportunities for advancement, access to continuous learning, and a balance between personal and professional lives. A legal career at LAO means you can do work that makes a real difference to people in need, in an environment that supports your career goals and provides you with the employment benefits you want.

Summary of employment benefits for permanent staff

Benefit Description
Community of service

Employees can make a difference in the lives of low-income Ontarians by giving them access to quality legal services.

Vacation

17 paid vacation days are provided annually, and employees can carry over up to 17 vacation days to the following year.

Sick leave/short term disability

Employees have six paid sick days per calendar year in the event of illness/injury. Employees with a continuous absence of five to 120 days due to illness or injury are paid at 100% of salary, with appropriate medical support.

Benefits

Three options are available, ranging from basic to "deluxe" packages, so employees can customize their benefits to meet their personal needs. Coverage, the level of reimbursement and annual maximums differ according to the option chosen.

Pension

Employees are eligible for the LAO pension plan after 12 months of continuous service. Pensions are vested immediately. LAO contributes 9.0% of each employees salary to the employees pension. Employees are currently required to contribute 6.0 per cent to 9.0 per cent of their salary to their pensions. They will be required to contribute 9.0 per cent of their salaries to their pensions starting in January 2019.

Business casual environment

Men are not required to wear suits and ties to the office!! Women can dress business casual. All employees can wear jeans on Fridays.

Flexible working hours

LAO promotes a healthy balance between work and family life.

Questions

More detailed information is available from the Human Resources Department, Legal Aid Ontario at hr@lao.on.ca.

Carrières à Aide juridique Ontario

Avantages d'une carrière à Aide juridique Ontario

Partout dans la province, les personnes à faible revenu dépendent de l’aide juridique pour avoir accès à la justice au moment voulu. L’an dernier, Aide juridique Ontario (AJO) a prêté main-forte à plus d’un million de personnes par l’intermédiaire des cliniques juridiques communautaires, des avocats de service, des certificats d’aide juridique, ainsi que des services juridiques internes en droit de la famille et des réfugiés.

Aide juridique Ontario offre un large éventail de carrières en droit aux personnes que son important mandat intéresse. Au sein d’AJO, les fonctions sont variées : avocat salarié dans les bureaux du droit criminel, du droit de la famille ou du droit des réfugiés, avocat de service ou travail de recherche et élaboration de politiques innovatrices.

Aide juridique Ontario croit en l’importance de créer un environnement de travail positif et motivant pour ses employés. AJO se fait un point d’honneur d’offrir un régime salarial avantageux, des possibilités d’avancement, l’accès à la formation continue, ainsi qu’un équilibre entre le travail et la vie personnelle. Une carrière à AJO vous donnera l’occasion de venir en aide aux personnes démunies dans un cadre qui vous permettra d’atteindre vos objectifs et vous offrira les avantages désirés.

Résumé des avantages en matière d’emploi pour le personnel permanent

Prestation Description
Communauté de service

Les employés peuvent venir en aide aux personnes à faible revenu en leur donnant accès à des services juridiques de qualité.

Vacances

Les employés ont 17 jours de vacances payés par an et la possibilité de reporter jusqu’à 17 jours de vacances à l’année suivante.

Congés de maladie et invalidité de courte durée

Les employés disposent de six jours de congé de maladie par année civile en cas de maladie ou de blessure. Prestation de 100 % du salaire lors d’une absence continue de 5 à 120 jours en raison d’une maladie ou d’une blessure lorsque l’employé reçoit les soins médicaux appropriés.

Avantages sociaux

Trois options sont proposées, qui vont du régime de base au régime amélioré, de sorte que chaque employé a la possibilité d’adapter le régime d’avantages sociaux à ses besoins personnels. La couverture, le niveau de remboursement et les maximums annuels varient selon l’option choisie.

Régime de retraite

Les employés ont la possibilité d’adhérer au régime de retraite d’AJO après 12 mois de service continu; les rentes sont acquises immédiatement; la cotisation salariale d’AJO au régime de retraite correspondra à 9 % du salaire de chaque employé à compter du mois de janvier 2019.

Tenue décontractée

La tenue complet-veston n’est pas obligatoire pour les hommes au bureau!! Les femmes peuvent porter une tenue professionnelle décontractée. Les employés peuvent même porter des jeans le vendredi.

Horaire de travail souple

AJO encourage un judicieux équilibre entre la vie familiale et le travail.

Questions

Vous pouvez obtenir des renseignements additionnels en communiquant avec le Service des ressources humaines d'Aide juridique Ontario à hr@lao.on.ca.