Our commitment

This page is also available for download as a PDF, word file or as a plain text document.


Legal Aid Ontario strives at all times to provide its services in a way that respects the dignity and independence of people with disabilities. We are also committed to giving people with disabilities the same opportunity to access our services and allowing them to benefit from the same services with the same level of quality and timeliness as others.

We will carry out our functions and responsibilities in the following areas:

Communication

We communicate with people with disabilities in ways that take into account their disability. We train employees who communicate with clients on how to interact and communicate with people with various types of disabilities.

Telephone services

We are committed to providing fully accessible telephone service to our clients. We train staff to communicate with customers over the telephone in clear and plain language and to speak clearly and slowly.

We communicate with clients by TTY (teletypewriter) if telephone communication is not suitable to their communication needs or is not available.

LAOs TTY is located in the Client Service Centre. The Client Service Centre will relay messages from clients received by TTY to other parts of the organization.

Service by TTY is provided with the same timeliness and quality as service provided over the telephone by the Client Service Centre.

Written communication

We are committed to providing accessible communication to all of our clients and contacts. Written information includes, but is not limited to, legal account information, certificates, letters, forms, brochures and email.

For this reason, written communications will be provided, in the following formats, upon request:

  • Hard copy
  • Large print
  • Portable document format (PDF)
  • Microsoft Word

We will provide brochures, public policies, manuals and other public information by email or on compact disk (CD). If these formats are not sufficient to accommodate a clients disability, LAO will communicate with the client to work toward acceptable accommodation.

We will answer any questions clients or contacts may have about the content of written communication in person or by telephone.

Online services

LAOs online services include various accessibility features. The accessibility features for each online service are listed below.

  • Public Website www.legalaid.on.ca
  • Assistive technologies like screen readers employed by people with visual disabilities interact properly with the site
  • Appropriate table markup and alternative text are available throughout for use with screen readers
  • The site is compatible with standard browsers with accessibility features like screen and text magnification
  • Location listings can be updated in real time by Area Offices and Duty Counsel, allowing up-to-the minute reporting of accessibility interruptions such as construction and maintenance of ramps and elevators
  • The location search tool includes a locally submitted photo for each office

Where online services are not accessible to people with disabilities, services are available on the phone, in person or at an LAO location.

Assistive devices

We are committed to serving people with disabilities who use personal assistive devices to obtain, use or benefit from our services. We deliver our services in a way that accommodates the needs of people who use assistive devices.

Examples of assistive devices that may be used by clients include:

  • Mobility device (i.e., wheelchair, scooter, walker, cane, crutches)
  • TTY (Teletypewriter)
  • Amplification systems or assistive listening devices
  • Computerized note-takers

We ensure that our staff are trained and familiar with assistive devices offered by LAO that may be used by clients or contacts with disabilities while accessing our services. A list of available assistive devices is posted on the information page for each LAO location.

We will also ensure that staff with access to the following assistive devices know how to use them:

  • TTY (Teletypewriter)
  • Elevators
  • Automatic door openers

Welcoming service animals

We are committed to welcoming people with disabilities who are accompanied by a service animal on the parts of our premises that are open to the public and other third parties. We ensure that all staff, volunteers and others dealing with the public are properly trained in how to interact with people with disabilities who are accompanied by a service animal.

Staff with allergies to animals

In some positions, staff who regularly provide services to the public may spend time with clients in a small enclosed space, such as an interview room. Employees with severe allergies to animals who are not able to spend time in close proximity to a service animal are asked to inform their manager about the allergy immediately.

Managers of employees with disclosed allergies are responsible for accommodating the employees allergies while maintaining timely service to people with disabilities accompanied by a service animal.

Welcoming support persons

Legal Aid Ontario accepts and welcomes the presence of interpreters, support persons and other necessary personnel who accompany, assist and support persons with disabilities who are dealing with Legal Aid. LAO takes the view that, in most cases, the presence of a support person or interpreter will not adversely affect the solicitor and client relationship or the confidentiality of information provided to legal aid staff, including counsel.

In the rare circumstance where legal advice is being provided and the LAO employee feels that the presence of a support person or interpreter might threaten the confidentiality of the solicitor and client relationship, the legal aid client with a disability will be advised of the concern and given the choice to proceed with or without the support person or interpreter present. The legal aid applicant may be asked to confirm their decision in writing.

Notice of temporary disruption

Legal Aid Ontario provides clients with notice in the event of a planned or unexpected disruption in the facilities or services usually used by people with disabilities. This notice includes information about the reason for the disruption, its anticipated duration, and a description of alternative facilities or services, if available. Notices will be placed on the location information pages of our website at www.legalaid.on.ca.

Notre engagement

Cette page peut également être téléchargée sous forme de fichier PDF, Word ou texte.


Aide juridique Ontario s’efforce en tout temps de fournir ses services d’une manière respectueuse de la dignité et de l’indépendance des personnes handicapées. Nous sommes aussi déterminés à donner aux personnes handicapées autant de possibilités d’accéder à nos services que le reste de nos clients, et de bénéficier de ces services avec le même niveau de qualité et de rapidité.

Nous nous acquitterons de nos fonctions et responsabilités à cet égard dans les domaines suivants :

Communication

Dans nos communications avec des personnes handicapées, nous tenons compte du handicap de ces personnes. Nous donnons aux membres de notre personnel qui traitent avec nos clients une formation sur la façon d’interagir et de communiquer avec les personnes ayant divers types de handicaps.

Services téléphoniques

Nous sommes déterminés à fournir des services téléphoniques entièrement accessibles à nos clients. Nous formons notre personnel à communiquer avec les clients au téléphone dans un langage clair et commun et à parler lentement et distinctement.

Nous communiquons avec nos clients par ATS (téléimprimeur) lorsque le téléphone n’est pas adapté à leurs besoins en matière de communication ou n’est pas disponible.

L’ATS d’AJO se trouve dans le Centre de service à la clientèle. Le Centre de service à la clientèle transmet aux autres sections de l’aide juridique les messages des clients envoyés par ATS.

Le service par ATS est assuré avec le même degré de qualité et de rapidité que le service fourni au téléphone par le Centre de service à la clientèle.

Written communication

Nous sommes déterminés à fournir des communications accessibles à tous nos clients et autres personnes avec qui nous traitons. Les communications écrites incluent, sans y être limitées, les renseignements sur les comptes juridiques, les certificats, les lettres, les formulaires, les brochures et les courriels.

Pour cette raison, les communications écrites seront fournies dans les formats suivants, sur demande :

  • Copie papier;
  • Gros caractères;
  • PDF (format électronique d’Acrobat);
  • Microsoft Word.

Nous fournirons les brochures, les politiques publiques, les manuels et autres renseignements destinés au public par courriel ou sur disque compact (CD). Si ces formats ne sont pas suffisants pour répondre aux besoins d’un client handicapé, AJO communiquera avec cette personne afin de décider d’une adaptation acceptable.

Nous répondrons en personne ou au téléphone à toute question qu’un client ou une autre personne pourrait avoir sur le contenu d’une communication écrite.

Services en ligne

Les services en ligne d’AJO incluent diverses caractéristiques d’accessibilité qui sont énumérées ci-après pour chaque service en ligne.

  • Site Web public – www.legalaid.on.ca
  • Les technologies d’aide, comme les lecteurs d’écran utilisés par les personnes ayant un handicap visuel, fonctionnent correctement avec le site.
  • Le contenu du site comprend des textes de remplacement et des balises pour les tableaux afin de permettre l’utilisation de lecteurs d’écran.
  • Le site est compatible avec les navigateurs standard offrant des fonctions d’accessibilité comme le grossissement des écrans et des textes.
  • Les listes d’emplacements (points d’accès) peuvent être mises à jour en temps réel par les bureaux régionaux et les avocats de service, ce qui permet de signaler immédiatement toute interruption temporaire de l’accessibilité, par exemple lors de travaux de construction ou d’entretien des rampes d’accès et des ascenseurs.
  • L’outil de recherche d’emplacement inclut une photo présentée localement pour chaque bureau.

Lorsque des services en ligne ne sont pas accessibles aux personnes handicapées, ils sont offerts au téléphone, en personne ou dans un bureau de l’aide juridique.

Appareils ou accessoires fonctionnels

Nous sommes déterminés à permettre aux personnes handicapées qui utilisent des appareils ou accessoires fonctionnels personnels d’obtenir nos services, de les utiliser et d’en bénéficier. Nous offrons nos services d’une façon adaptée aux besoins des personnes qui utilisent des appareils ou accessoires fonctionnels.

Voici des exemples d’appareils fonctionnels que peuvent utiliser nos clients :

  • Aide de locomotion (fauteuil roulant, vélomoteur, marchette, cane, béquilles);
  • ATS (téléimprimeur);
  • Dispositifs auditifs ou pour amplifier;
  • Appareils informatisés de prise de notes.

Nous veillerons à ce que notre personnel ait reçu la formation nécessaire et sache comment fonctionnent les appareils et accessoires fonctionnels qu’AJO met à la disposition de ses clients ou autres personnes handicapées qui utilisent ses services. La liste des appareils et accessoires fonctionnels disponibles figure dans la page d’information de chaque point d’accès d’AJO.

Nous veillerons aussi à ce que le personnel qui a accès aux appareils suivants sache comment les utiliser :

  • ATS (téléimprimeur);
  • Ascenseurs;
  • Portes automatiques.

Animaux d’assistance

Nous sommes déterminés à permettre aux personnes handicapées accompagnées d’un animal d’assistance d’accéder aux aires de nos locaux qui sont ouvertes au public ou à des tiers. Nous veillons à ce que tous les membres du personnel, bénévoles et autres personnes qui communiquent avec le public reçoivent la formation nécessaire pour interagir de façon appropriée avec les personnes handicapées accompagnées d’un animal d’assistance.

Personnel allergique aux animaux

Certains membres du personnel, du fait de leurs fonctions auprès du public, sont appelés à passer un certain temps en présence de clients dans un local clos et relativement petit, par exemple une salle d’entrevue. Il est demandé aux employés qui souffrent de sévères allergies aux animaux et qui, de ce fait, ne peuvent pas rester en présence d’un animal d’assistance dans un espace clos, d’avertir immédiatement leur chef de service de cette allergie.

Les chefs de service qui sont informés d’une telle allergie doivent en tenir compte, tout en veillant à ce que les personnes handicapées accompagnées d’un animal d’assistance continuent de bénéficier des services nécessaires en temps opportun.

Personnes de soutien

Aide juridique Ontario accepte sans réserve la présence d’interprètes, de personnes de soutien et de toutes autres personnes qui accompagnent, aident ou soutiennent des personnes handicapées dans leurs interactions avec l’aide juridique.

AJO part du principe que dans la plupart des cas, la présence d’une personne de soutien ou d’un interprète ne compromettra pas la relation avocat-client ou la confidentialité des renseignements fournis au personnel de l’aide juridique, y compris les avocats.

Dans les rares cas où AJO fournit un conseil juridique à une personne handicapée et que l’employé d’AJO estime que la présence d’une personne de soutien ou d’un interprète pourrait compromettre la confidentialité de la relation entre l’avocat et le client, la personne handicapée sera avisée de cette préoccupation et aura le choix de poursuivre avec ou sans la présence de la personne de soutien ou de l’interprète. Il pourra lui être demandé de confirmer sa décision par écrit.

Avis de perturbation temporaire

Aide juridique Ontario avisera ses clients en cas de perturbation prévue ou imprévue d’installations ou de services qui sont normalement à la disposition des personnes handicapées. Cet avis indiquera la raison de la perturbation, sa durée prévue ainsi que les services ou installations de remplacement qui sont disponibles, le cas échéant.

Ces avis seront placés sur les pages relatives aux points d’accès de notre site Web à www.legalaid.on.ca.