Sidney B. Linden Award

Ryan Peck, head of HALCO, wins 2016 Sidney B. Linden Award

Ryan Peck has been executive director of the HIV & AIDS Legal Clinic Ontario (HALCO) since 2007.

Mr. Peck has fought for low-income people who require help and guidance in the justice system since he graduated from the University of Toronto in 2000. He articled at HALCO, and after he was called to the bar in 2002, he worked in legal aid clinics and as a duty counsel until his appointment as HALCOs executive director.

He is a member of the Ontario Advisory Committee on HIV/AIDS, which provides social and health policy advice on HIV-related issues to the Ontario Minister of Health and Long-Term Care. He has served as the co-chair for the Ontario Working Group on Criminal Law and HIV Exposure since 2008, and joined the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Networks Board of Directors in 2008.

Updated Jan. 10, 2017

The award

Sidney B. Linden Award statue

Legal Aid Ontario created the Sidney B. Linden Award to honour exceptional individuals who have demonstrated a commitment to helping low-income people, and have given their time and expertise towards ensuring access to justice in Ontario.

The award is named in honour of Justice Sidney B. Linden, Legal Aid Ontario's first chair of the board of directors. Justice Linden has been involved with legal aid for over 35 years, and his distinguished professional career has been characterized by a genuine commitment to issues concerning access to justice.

Since its inception, the Sidney B. Linden Award has been presented to eight deserving recipients: William A. (Bill) Sullivan, Fergus J. (Chip) O'Connor, Peter G. Kirby, Michael Bossin, Barbara Jackman, J. Robert Kellermann, Paul Copeland and the late Dianne Martin.

The award statue

Toronto sculptor Siggy Puchta designed the Sidney B. Linden Award. The statue depicts the concept of access to justice through the upward and open gesture of 'the lady of justice' holding the scales of justice while at the same time welcoming those in need of legal aid services. Siggy's design also captures the spirit of LAO's logo.

Past Sidney B. Linden Award recipients

Le prix Sidney-B.-Linden

Ryan Peck, chef de l’HALCO, remporte le prix Sidney‑B.‑Linden 2016

Ryan Peck est directeur général de la HIV & AIDS Legal Clinic Ontario (HALCO) depuis 2007.

M. Peck travaille pour les personnes à faible revenu qui ont besoin d’aide et de conseils pour avancer dans le système de justice depuis qu’il a obtenu son diplôme de l’Université de Toronto en 2000. Il a effectué son stage en droit à l’HALCO et, après son admission au barreau en 2002, il a travaillé dans des cliniques d’aide juridique et agi en tant qu’avocat de service jusqu’à sa nomination au poste de directeur général de l’HALCO.

Il est membre du Comité consultatif ontarien de lutte contre le VIH et le sida (CCOLVS) qui fournit des conseils au ministre de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée sur toutes les questions sociales et de santé en matière de VIH et de sida. Il est coprésident du groupe ontarien de travail sur le droit criminel et l’exposition au VIH depuis 2008 et il siège au conseil d’administration du Réseau juridique canadien VIH/Sida depuis 2008.

Mis à jour le 10 janvier 2017

Le prix

SBL Award statue

Aide juridique Ontario a créé le prix Sidney-B.-Linden pour rendre hommage à des personnes exceptionnelles qui ont fait preuve d’un engagement envers les personnes à faible revenu en Ontario et qui ont fait don de leurs temps, expertise ou services pour assurer à ces personnes l’accès à la justice.

Ce prix a été nommé en hommage au premier président du conseil d’administration d’Aide juridique Ontario, le juge Sidney B. Linden. Ce dernier est au service de l'aide juridique depuis plus de 35 ans. Tout au long de sa remarquable carrière, il a fait preuve d'un véritable engagement envers l’accès à la justice.

Depuis sa création, le prix Sidney-B.-Linden a été attribué à huit lauréats prestigieux : William A. (Bill) Sullivan, Ferggus J. (Chip) O'Connor, Peter G. Kirby, Michael Bossin, Barbara Jackman, J. Robert Kellermann, Paul Copeland et feue Dianne Martin.

Le prix

Siggy Puchta, un sculpteur de Toronto, a dessiné le prix Sidney-B.-Linden. La statuette, « la dame de la justice », incarne l'accès à la justice par sa posture horizontale élancée et ouverte, tenant les plateaux d'une balance, symbole de la justice, et accueillant en même temps ceux et celles qui ont besoin de services d'aide juridique. La création de Siggy évoque aussi le logo d'AJO.

Le prix Sidney-B.-Linden : Lauréats précédents