About Legal Aid Ontario

Historical Overview

About Legal Aid Ontario

Providing equal access to justice for low-income individuals has remained the guiding principle for legal aid services since they were first introduced to Ontario over 30 years ago.

1950s: Volunteer Service

Ontario first implemented an organized legal aid plan for criminal cases in 1951. Lawyers provided legal assistance on a volunteer basis.

By 1963, the Ontario government and the Law Society of Upper Canada (LSUC) decided that the voluntary plan was not adequately meeting the demand for legal aid and that it made excessive demands on the volunteer lawyers.

1960s: England and Scotland Model Adopted

In 1967, the Ontario Legal Aid Plan (OLAP) was created based on the legal aid plans operating in England and Scotland. The plan was financed by the provincial government and managed by LSUC.

1970s: Clinics Created

Community clinics were first established in the early 1970s to provide legal services, public legal information and community development for low-income and disadvantaged people.

Clinics address the unique legal needs of low-income people who need help with the essentials of life, such as subsistence income and safe housing, and access to the most basic social services, such as education for children.

1980s: OLAP Expands

Until the 1980s, the major focus of OLAP had been criminal law. Between 1980 and 1990, OLAP expanded its clinic, family, refugee, mental health, and Aboriginal services considerably. Services continued to expand in the 1990s.

In the early 1990s, at the height of a recession, OLAP was issuing more than 200,000 certificates a year for a broad range of criminal, family, refugee, and other civil claims.

Early 1990s: A Time of Constraints

Funding for the clinic system was frozen in 1992, despite the fact that large areas of the province were still without clinic law services.

In 1994, the Ontario government capped funding for the certificate program. Over the next couple of years, certificate services dropped significantly. In 1996-97, OLAP issued approximately 75,000 certificates, a reduction of more than 150,000 certificates from just a few years earlier.

1997: Review

In 1997, law professor John McCamus led a review of OLAP. His report, titled "A Blueprint for Publicly Funded Legal Services," was released in September 1997. He recommended the creation of an independent body to govern OLAP and experimentation with service delivery models such as the use of staff lawyers, contracting and wider use of duty counsel, with more focus on serving client needs.

1998: The Legal Aid Services Act

The government introduced The Legal Aid Services Act, 1998, to create an independent agency called Legal Aid Ontario (LAO).

  • A new Chair and board of directors is named to govern LAO. After extensive consultation with stakeholders, client groups and the legal profession, the board developed a four-year strategic plan. The plan outlined LAO's vision statement, values and strategic directions for the organization as well as performance measures.
  • Today LAO is the second largest justice agency in Ontario. LAO is one of the largest providers of legal services in North America covering a range of legal aid services such as criminal, family, mental health, aboriginal law, clinic law, and refugee law.

LAO: the first five years

  • Eight new advisory committees have been established, consisting of almost 100 community representatives, lawyers and other service providers. The role of these committees is to ensure that people with an interest in legal aid have regular input on and access to LAO decisions.

LAO, in cooperation with its justice partners, built a business case for tariff reform and presented it to the Government of Ontario. In 2002, the government granted the first tariff increase in over 15 years including a 28 per cent increase in duty counsel rates and special northern rates.

LAO completed the expansion of its clinics with the opening of five new general service clinics, two specialty clinics, the Income Security Advocacy Centre and the Advocacy Centre for Tenants-Ontario, including providing legal services in French to the Ontario Francophone community, and expanded ten existing clinics. With this achievement, for the first time legal services were available to all Ontario residents within their own communities."

LAO developed and implemented the first ever memorandum of understanding (MOU) and funding agreements with the community legal clinic system and with student legal aid services societies (SLASS). The MOU sets out the roles and responsibilities of LAO and individual clinics and SLASSs.

  • Launched a multi-year technological project called Total Service Network (TSN). Started in 2001, it will be implemented in 2004. TSN will replace LAO's outdated technology systems with one more flexible, integrated system. TSN's Internet-based system will build a new electronic business relationship with lawyers and streamline and simplify interaction with Legal Aid Ontario.

Our logos:

The old LAO logo
The original LAO logo was created in 1970 and used until 2004 when it was replaced by...
The current LAO logo

For more info:

For more information regarding Legal Aid Ontario please refer to our Fact Sheets

À propos d'Aide juridique Ontario

Aperçu historique

À propos d'Aide juridique Ontario

Depuis leur instauration en Ontario il y a plus de 30 ans, les services d'aide juridique ont pour objectif d'accorder aux personnes à faible revenu l'égalité d'accès à la justice.

LES ANNÉES 1950 : RÉGIME FONDÉ SUR LE BÉNÉVOLAT

C'est en 1951 qu'est institué en Ontario le premier régime structuré d'aide juridique. Ce régime vise les affaires criminelles, et les avocats offrent gratuitement leurs services.

En 1963, le gouvernement ontarien et le Barreau du Haut-Canada déterminent qu'un régime d'aide juridique fondé sur le bénévolat ne permet pas de satisfaire convenablement à la demande et exige trop des avocats.

LES ANNÉES 1960 : NOUVEAU RÉGIME INSPIRÉ DE L'ÉCOSSE ET DE L'ANGLETERRE

En 1967, le Régime d'aide juridique de l'Ontario, qui emprunte aux régimes de l'Écosse et de l'Angleterre, est instauré. Le gouvernement ontarien assure son financement, tandis que le Barreau du Haut-Canada l'administre.

LES ANNÉES 1970 : APPARITION DES CLINIQUES JURIDIQUES COMMUNAUTAIRES

Les premières cliniques voient le jour au début des années 1970. Leur objectif est de fournir des services et de donner de l'information en matière juridique, en plus de contribuer au développement communautaire, au profit des personnes défavorisées ou à faible revenu.

Les cliniques juridiques communautaires répondent aux besoins particuliers des plus démunis quant aux nécessités de la vie, tels un revenu minimum et un logement sûr, et à l'accès aux services sociaux de base comme l'éducation des enfants.

LES ANNÉES 1980 : ESSOR DU RÉGIME

Jusqu'aux années 1980, le droit criminel est au centre des activités du Régime d'aide juridique de l'Ontario. Entre 1980 et 1990, le Régime élargit considérablement ses services relativement aux cliniques, aux affaires familiales, aux réfugiés, à la santé mentale et aux Autochtones. Cet élargissement des services s'est poursuivi.

  • Au début des années 1990, en pleine récession, le Régime d'aide juridique de l'Ontario délivre plus de 200 000 certificats par année en rapport avec toutes sortes de demandes relevant du droit criminel, du droit de la famille, du droit des réfugiés, etc.

LE DÉBUT DES ANNÉES 1990 : UNE PERIODE DE CONTRAINTES

Les fonds accordés au regard des cliniques cessent d'augmenter en 1992, malgré le fait qu'une bonne partie de la province n'en a pas encore bénéficié.

En 1994, le gouvernement décide de mettre fin au financement illimité du programme de délivrance de certificats. Au cours des deux années suivantes, les services offerts par ce programme sont réduits de façon considérable. Durant l'exercice 1996-1997, quelque 75 000 certificats sont délivrés, soit environ 150 000 de moins que quelques années auparavant.

1997 : EXAMEN DU RÉGIME

En 1997, le professeur de droit John McCamus préside à un examen du Régime d'aide juridique de l'Ontario. Son rapport est publié en septembre 1997. On y recommande la constitution d'un organisme indépendant chargé d'administrer le Régime et l'essai de modes de prestation différents, notamment par l'embauche d'avocats, la sous-traitance et une utilisation plus grande des avocats de service. Le rapport McCamus incite aussi à répondre davantage aux besoins des clients.

1998 : LA LOI SUR LES SERVICES D'AIDE JURIDIQUE

Le gouvernement adopte la Loi de 1998 sur les services d'aide juridique, par laquelle il crée un organisme indépendant appelé Aide juridique Ontario.

Un nouveau président et de nouveaux membres sont nommés au conseil d'administration de l'organisme. Après avoir amplement consulté les intéressés, les groupes-clients et la profession juridique, le conseil élabore un plan stratégique quadriennal. Celui-ci énonce la vision d'avenir d'Aide juridique Ontario, ses valeurs et ses orientations stratégiques. Il définit également les moyens de mesure de son rendement.

Aujourd'hui, Aide juridique Ontario est la deuxième entité juridique en importance en Ontario. C'est l'un des principaux fournisseurs de services juridiques en Amérique du Nord. Les services d'aide juridique qu'elle offre touchent les domaines de droit suivants : droit criminel, droit de la famille, santé mentale, domaines de pratique des cliniques et droit des réfugiés.

AIDE JURIDIQUE ONTARIO : LES CINQ PREMIÈRES ANNÉES

Huit nouveaux comités consultatifs sont créés, rassemblant près d'une centaine de représentants communautaires, avocats et autres fournisseurs de services. Le rôle de ces comités consiste à veiller à ce que les parties intéressées participent régulièrement aux décisions prises par Aide juridique Ontario.

Aide juridique Ontario travaille avec des groupes d'avocats pour convaincre le gouvernement provincial d'augmenter le taux horaire versé aux avocats. En 2002, le gouvernement accorde, pour la première fois en 15 ans, une augmentation du tarif de l'aide juridique. La hausse comporte notamment une augmentation de 28 pour cent du taux horaire des avocats de service et des taux spéciaux qui s'appliquent aux régions du nord de la province.

Aide juridique Ontario élargit son réseau de cliniques. Ceci se traduit par l'ouverture de cinq nouvelles cliniques générales et de deux cliniques spécialisées, le Centre d'action pour la sécurité du revenu et le Centre ontarien de défense des droits des locataires. Certaines cliniques offrent des services juridiques à la population franco-ontarienne. Dix cliniques existantes connaissent également une expansion. Ainsi, les Ontariens et Ontariennes ont pour la première fois accès aux services où qu'ils se trouvent dans la province.

Aide juridique Ontario élabore et met en œuvre le premier protocole d'entente et le premier accord de financement entre elle et les cliniques juridiques communautaires ainsi que les sociétés étudiantes d'aide juridique. Le protocole d'entente établit les rôles et les responsabilités d'Aide juridique Ontario et des cliniques juridiques de même que des sociétés étudiantes d'aide juridique.

Le projet technologique pluriannuel « Total Service Network » (TSN) est lancé en 2001 et sa mise en œuvre est prévue pour 2004. L'initiative de service intégré TSN remplacera les systèmes technologiques obsolètes d'Aide juridique Ontario par un système plus souple et plus intégré. Le système TSN axé sur Internet permettra de construire de nouvelles relations d'affaires par voie électronique avec les avocats et de rationaliser et simplifier l'interaction avec Aide juridique Ontario.



Nos logos

The old LAO logo
Notre premier logo a été créé dans le années 1970. En 2004, il a été remplacé par...
The current LAO logo

Pour en savoir plus

Pour obtenir de renseignements additionnels au sujet d'Aide juridique Ontario, consultez nos Fiches de renseignements.