Fact sheets

Legal Aid Ontario's toll-free telephone line


No matter where you live in the province, Legal Aid Ontario (LAO) is just a free phone call away, ready to connect Ontarians to confidential, impartial legal aid information and services.

Callers can speak in confidence to an LAO client service representative. This representative can help in over 200 languages, including 18 Aboriginal languages and dialects. Services are also available to people who are deaf, deafened and hard of hearing, through Bell Relay and TTY.


Our services

Representatives can provide Ontarians with:

  • general information on the range of legal aid services available to eligible clients, how to apply for legal aid and who is eligible
  • referrals to other programs and services, such as duty counsel, community legal clinics, the Ontario Disability Support Program, Ontario Works, the Family Responsibilities Office, Citizenship and Immigration Canada, the Ontario Labour Relations Board, the Law Society of Upper Canada, agencies, shelters and other community resources

Ontarians who qualify may be directed to other legal aid services such as:

  • financial eligibility assessment
  • legal information, applying for legal aid (LAO’s certificate program), or referrals to staff lawyers for legal advice
  • preparation for summary legal advice — up to 20 minutes of free legal advice and information on criminal and family law issues
  • updates on appeals

Current clients may be directed to staff who can provide information on legal aid application status and whether a lawyer has acknowledged a certificate. They can also update their personal information


How to contact LAO

Call LAO’s central toll-free telephone line, Monday to Friday, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Callers who prefer not to wait on the phone to speak with someone can enter their number at the prompt, and the next available representative will call back. Legal Aid Ontario accepts collect calls.

Telephone: 1-800-668-8258 (or 416-979-1446 in Toronto)

TTY (telephone device for the hearing impaired): 1-866-641-8867 (or 416-598-8867 in Toronto)


Legal Aid Ontario's toll-free telephone line

Print this fact sheet | PDF, 70 KB


Questions

For more information on this topic contact media@lao.on.ca


Legal Aid Ontario (LAO), an independent but publicly funded and publicly accountable non-profit corporation. None of this material may be commercially reproduced, but copying for other purposes, with credit, is encouraged.

© 1998-2014 Legal Aid Ontario, all rights reserved

Privacy Policy  |  Accountability  |  Disclaimer

Fiches de renseignements

Ligne téléphoniques sans frais d’Aide juridique Ontario

Quel que soit leur lieu de résidence en Ontario, les résidents peuvent recevoir des services et des renseignements impartiaux en toute confidentialité sur l'aide juridique. Il suffit pour cela d’un seul coup de téléphone.

Les appelants peuvent parler librement à un des agents du service à la clientèle. Ces derniers peuvent procurer de l'assistance en plus de 200 langues, y compris 18 langues et dialectes autochtones. En outre, les services d'aide juridique sont offerts aux personnes sourdes ou malentendantes par l'intermédiaire de Bell Relay ou de ATS.

Services de la ligne sans frais

Voici ce que les agents peuvent procurer aux clients :

  • Des renseignements généraux sur une gamme de services juridiques à la disposition des clients qui y sont admissibles, sur la manière de déposer une demande d'aide juridique et sur les critères d'admissibilité;
  • Des renvois à d'autres services et programmes comme le programme d'avocats de service, les cliniques juridiques communautaires, le Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées, le programme Ontario au travail, le Bureau des obligations familiales, Citoyenneté et immigration Canada, la Commission des relations de travail de l'Ontario, le Barreau du Haut-Canada, les refuges et d'autres ressources communautaires.

Le renvoi des Ontariennes et Ontariens qui y sont admissibles à d'autres services d'aide juridique, notamment :

  • Évaluation de l'admissibilité financière;
  • Information juridique, aide au dépôt de demande d'aide juridique (programme de certificat d'AJO) ou renvoi à un avocat de service pour des conseils juridiques;
  • Préparation à des conseils juridiques sommaires — jusqu'à 20 minutes de conseils juridiques gratuits et de renseignements sur des questions de droit criminel et de droit de la famille
  • Renseignements actualisés sur leur appel

Les appels des clients existants peuvent être acheminés à des agents qui pourront les informer sur l'avancement de leur demande d'aide juridique et leur dire si leur avocat a accepté le certificat. Les agents peuvent également mettre à jour les renseignements personnels des clients.

Communiquer avec AJO

La ligne est ouverte du lundi au vendredi de 8 h à 17 h. Les personnes qui préfèrent ne pas attendre en ligne peuvent entrer leur numéro de téléphone et recevoir un retour d'appel du prochain agent qui se libérera. Aide juridique Ontario accepte les appels à frais virés.

Téléphone : 1 800 668-8258 (à Toronto, 416 979-1446).

ATS : 1 866 641-8867 (à Toronto, 416 598-8867

Version imprimable

Ligne téléphonique sand frais d'Aide juridique Ontario
Imprimez la fiche de renseignements | PDF, 50 KB

Questions

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur ce sujet, contacter media@lao.on.ca