Fact sheets

Services to support Aborignal people

Fast facts

Between April 1, 2010 and March 31, 2011, LAO issued 9,912 certificates to people who identified as Aboriginal a total of 10 per cent of all certificates issued in this time period.

Aboriginal offenders are over-represented in Canada's correctional facilities

Though Aboriginal people made up 3.1 per cent of Canadas adult population, they made up about 18 per cent of all inmates sentenced to provincial/territorial custody.
Statistics Canada, 2007/2008

LAO provides appropriate legal representation to people who self-identify as Aboriginal. We train our staff lawyers to help them understand the legal issues that impact Aboriginal people in the Canadian justice system. In addition, we require lawyers who represent Aboriginal clients in criminal matters to take additional special training to ensure they understand the unique legal status of Aboriginal people.

In 2007, LAO began developing an Aboriginal Justice Strategy to help it meet the needs of and achieve measurable improvements in its services to First Nations communities across Ontario. LAO intends to:

  • remove barriers to accessing justice
  • address the lack of Aboriginal representation in its management team
  • address the need for increased Aboriginal legal representation
  • improve services on legal issues specific to the Aboriginal community and address the role of LAO in participating in or supporting those processes specific to or driven by Aboriginal people.

Programs and services for Aboriginal people

LAO funds a number of programs and initiatives in partnership with the Aboriginal community. All integrate traditional Aboriginal practices and customs with the justice system. All also address the over-representation of Aboriginal people who require legal aid assistance within the justice system.

Community Justice Program

The Community Justice Program has been available in five friendship centres and one reserve community since 2001.

LAO supports this initiative in partnership with the Ontario Federation of Indian Friendship Centres, the Ministry of the Attorney General and the Department of Justice. It provides administrative support for culturally based programs to help Aboriginal youth, adults, and families stay out of jail. Where appropriate, it also provides meaningful alternatives that address the needs of victims and offenders.

Healing circles

These are traditional events. They bring offenders together with victims, family members, community representatives, elders and social services providers in a safe, supportive and non-adversarial setting. With the assistance of trained restorative justice workers, members of a healing circle discuss the offences and their impact on the victims and the community.

Healing circles are a non-judgmental approach that helps re-integrate participants into the community; promotes active responsibility of the offender and his/her family; repairs relationships; and promotes reconciliation among parties.

The goal: to develop a sentencing plan that addresses the root causes of the crimes and also reflect the best interests of the victims, the community and the offender. Once all members of the healing circle agree upon and support this plan, it is filed with the courts.

Expansion of Gladue court model

The Gladue court model initiative goes back to a 1999 Supreme Court ruling, R v. Gladue. The Supreme Court ruled that courts must consider an Aboriginal offenders background when he or she is sentenced for a crime.

Today every criminal court in Canada is required to take Gladue factors and principles into consideration when sentencing an Aboriginal person. Courts in Ontario are also required to take a persons Aboriginal background and Gladue principles into account at all stages of the criminal court process, including bail.

As a result, when a person who identifies himself or herself as Aboriginal is to appear in court, defence counsel, crown prosecutors or judges can request that Gladue caseworkers provide a report on his or her life circumstances and appropriate sentencing recommendations.

Furthermore, just as lawyers with specialized legal expertise belong to family panels and immigration panels, lawyers who represent Aboriginal clients in criminal matters must now meet Gladue panel standards. These panel standards require:

  • knowledge of the application of Gladue principles
  • awareness of resources for Aboriginal clients and
  • compliance with best practices for the representation of an Aboriginal client in a criminal proceeding.

Toronto, London and Sarnia have dedicated Gladue courts. These courts provide culturally-based interpretation and administration of justice that considers the needs of Canada's Aboriginal people and also addresses the root causes of offenders behaviours.

In January 2012, LAO began providing duty counsel services in a new Gladue court in London. Gladue-related services are also offered at courts in Toronto, Hamilton, Brantford, the Waterloo-Wellington area and Sarnia.

Print version

Services to support Aboriginal people
Print this fact sheet | PDF, 91 KB

Questions

For more information on this topic contact media@lao.on.ca

Fiches de renseignements

Services pour appuyer les autochtones

Faits en bref

Du 1er avril 2010 au 31 mars 2011, AJO a délivré 9 912 certificats à des personnes qui se sont déclarées autochtones, ce qui représente 10 % de l'ensemble des certificats délivrés au cours de cette période.

Les contrevenants autochtones sont représentés en nombre excessif dans les établissements correctionnels du Canada.

Bien que les Autochtones aient composé 3,1 pour cent de la population adulte au Canada, ils représentaient environ 18 pour cent de l'ensemble des détenus condamnés à une peine d'emprisonnement dans un établissement provincial ou territorial.
Statistique Canada, 2007/2008

AJO procure une représentation juridique appropriée aux personnes qui se déclarent autochtones. Nous formons nos avocats salariés pour qu'ils comprennent les questions juridiques qui touchent les Autochtones au sein du système de justice canadien. De plus, nous exigeons des avocats qui représentent des clients autochtones dans des affaires de droit criminel qu'ils suivent une formation spéciale pour veiller à ce qu'ils comprennent le statut juridique unique des Autochtones.

En 2007, AJO a entrepris d'élaborer une stratégie de justice à l'intention des Autochtones, la Stratégie de justice applicable aux Autochtones, pour l'aider à répondre aux besoins des collectivités des Premières Nations en Ontario et apporter des améliorations mesurables aux services qu'elle offre à ces collectivités. AJO a pour objectif :

  • D'éliminer les obstacles à l'accès à la justice;
  • De remédier au manque de représentation des Autochtones dans son équipe de direction;
  • De répondre au besoin d'une plus grande représentation juridique par des Autochtones;
  • D'améliorer les services en rapport avec des questions juridiques propres à la communauté autochtone et définir le rôle d'AJO quant à sa participation et son appui aux processus conçus par ou pour les Autochtones.

Programme et services à l'intention des peuples autochtones

AJO finance un certain nombre de programmes et d'initiatives en partenariat avec la communauté autochtone. Tous ces programmes et initiatives intègrent les coutumes et pratiques autochtones au système de justice. En outre, ils visent à diminuer le nombre excessif d'Autochtones qui ont besoin d'aide juridique dans le cadre du système de justice.

Programme de justice communautaire

Depuis 2001, le programme de justice communautaire est offert dans cinq centres d'amitié et une réserve.

AJO en collaboration avec la fédération des centres d’amitié autochtones de l’Ontario, le ministère du Procureur général et le ministère de la Justice appuie cette initiative. Cette dernière apporte un soutien administratif aux programmes tenant compte des spécificités culturelles qui visent à aider les jeunes et les adultes autochtones à rester en liberté. Lorsque le cas s'y prête, elle fournit également des solutions de rechange pertinentes qui tiennent compte des besoins des victimes et des contrevenants.

Cercles de guérison

Les cercles de guérison font partie des traditions de la communauté. Ils réunissent les contrevenants, les victimes, les membres de la famille, les représentants communautaires, les aînés et les prestataires de services sociaux dans un milieu sécuritaire, chaleureux et à l'abri de toute confrontation. Avec l'assistance de travailleurs de la justice réparatrice, les membres du cercle discutent, sans porter de jugement, des délits commis et de leurs conséquences pour la victime et la collectivité.

Cette approche permet aux contrevenants qui y participent de se réintégrer à la société, encourage la responsabilité active du contrevenant et de sa famille, restaure les relations et favorise la réconciliation des parties.

L'objectif est d'élaborer un plan de détermination de la peine qui isole les causes à l'origine des crimes commis et qui illustre au mieux l'intérêt des victimes, de la collectivité et du contrevenant. Une fois que tous les participants au cercle de guérison se sont mis d'accord sur un plan, ce dernier est déposé à la Cour.

Élargissement du modèle de tribunal de type Gladue

Ce modèle de tribunal remonte à une décision de la Cour suprême de 1999, R c. Gladue. La Cour suprême a conclu que les tribunaux devaient tenir compte des antécédents autochtones des contrevenants lors de la détermination de la peine pour un acte criminel.

De nos jours, tous les tribunaux criminels canadiens sont tenus de prendre en compte les facteurs et les principes Gladue lorsqu'ils déterminent la peine d'un Autochtone. Les tribunaux ontariens sont également tenus de prendre en compte les antécédents d'un Autochtone et les principes Gladue à toutes les étapes des procédures judiciaires en droit criminel, y compris la liberté sous caution.

Par conséquent, quand une personne qui se déclare autochtone doit comparaître, l'avocat de service, les procureurs de la couronne et les juges peuvent demander qu'un chargé de cas des services Gladue fournisse un rapport sur les circonstances de la vie du contrevenant et des recommandations au sujet d'une peine appropriée.

De plus, comme les avocats qui sont inscrits sur les listes de droit de la famille ou de l'immigration doivent respecter les normes de leur liste, les avocats en droit criminel qui représentent les clients autochtones doivent répondre aux normes régissant les avocats inscrits sur la liste Gladue. Selon ces normes, l'avocat doit :

  • Connaître les principes Gladue et leur application;
  • Être au courant des ressources pour les clients autochtones;
  • Se conformer aux pratiques exemplaires de la représentation de clients autochtones à des procédures en droit criminel.

Il y a un tribunal de type Gladue à Toronto, London et Sarnia. Le tribunal de type Gladue offre une interprétation et une administration de la justice adaptées à la culture qui, non seulement tiennent compte des besoins des membres des Premières Nations vivant au Canada, mais qui examinent aussi les raisons fondamentales du comportement des contrevenants.

Depuis janvier 2012, AJO offre des services d'avocats de service dans le nouveau Tribunal Gladue à London. En outre, des services de type Gladue sont offerts dans les tribunaux de Toronto, Hamilton, Brantford, Sarnia et dans la région Waterloo-Wellington.

Version imprimable

Services pour appuyer les peoples autochtones
Imprimez la fiche de renseignements | PDF, 84 KB

Questions

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur ce sujet, contacter media@lao.on.ca