About Legal Aid Ontario

By-law No. 2
Conflict of interest policy for directors of Legal Aid Ontario

being the conflict of interest policy for directors of

Legal Aid Ontario

(hereinafter referred to as the Corporation)

BE IT ENACTED as a by-law of the Corporation as follows:

Principles

  1. Directors must act honestly and uphold the highest ethical standards in order to maintain and enhance public confidence and trust in the integrity, objectivity and impartiality of the Corporation.

  2. Directors must perform their duties and conduct themselves in a manner that will bear the closest public scrutiny. Directors cannot fulfil this obligation simply by acting within the law.

  3. Directors shall not have private interests — other than those permitted by this policy, laws or statutes (including Section 5 hereof) — that would be affected particularly or significantly by the Corporations decisions or actions in which directors participate.

  4. When appointed to the Corporations board of directors (the Board), directors must arrange their private interests to prevent conflicts of interest, except those permitted by this policy, laws or statutes.

  5. A director shall not be considered to have a conflict of interest simply by virtue of the fact that he or she is a Bencher of the Law Society of Upper Canada, is a member of the board of directors of a community legal clinic, accepts legal aid certificates, or has a family member or business associate who accepts legal aid certificates.

Distribution of policy

  1. Directors shall be provided with a copy of this by-law. Serving directors shall receive a copy of the by-law immediately after the Board passes it. Prospective directors shall receive it prior to, or at the time of, their appointment.

Definitions

  1. Except as otherwise provided in this by-law, a conflict of interest exists when the interests of a director, or his or her family member or business associate, could influence or be seen to influence the directors decisions or impair his or her ability to act fairly, impartially and without bias. These conflicts include financial or other interests, and are not limited to situations where a director could personally benefit as a result of a decision by the Board. A conflict of interest includes the following situations referred to as Statutory Conflicts:

    1. Situations in which the director is a party to a material contract or transaction or proposed material contract or transaction with the Corporation;
    2. A situation in which the director is an officer or director of or has a material interest in, any person who is a party to a material contract or transaction or proposed material contract or transaction with the Corporation.
  2. For the purpose of this by-law, the term family member includes a directors spouse (including common-law and same sex spouses) and a directors parent, grandparent, child or sibling, or the spouse of any of these relations.

Disclosure

  1. If a director becomes aware of a situation where he or she has a conflict of interest with respect to a matter before the Board, he or she shall provide notice of a conflict of interest either by disclosing the nature and extent of the conflict of interest in writing to the Corporation or by requesting that the nature and extent of the conflict of interest be entered in the minutes of a meeting of the Board.

  2. A director shall disclose the nature and extent of any Statutory Conflict of Interest:

    1. at the meeting of the Board at which the matter giving rise to the conflict of interest is first considered;
    2. if the conflict of interest did not then exist, then at the first meeting of the Board after the conflict of interest arises;
    3. if the conflict of interest arises after a contract is made or the transaction is entered into, at the first meeting of the Board after the conflict of interest arises;
    4. if a person who has a conflict of interest becomes a director, at the first meeting of the Board after he or she becomes a director;
  3. A director shall disclose any conflict of interest other than a Statutory Conflict to the Board as soon as the director becomes aware of such conflict of interest.

  4. If the matter giving rise to the conflict of interest does not require approval by the Board, then the director shall disclose the nature and extent of the conflict of interest forthwith after the director becomes aware of the conflict of interest.

  5. A person other than a director may assert that a director has a conflict of interest with respect to a matter before the Board if that assertion is made in writing to the Chair of the Board prior to the meeting at which the matter will be discussed. A non-director asserting a conflict of interest in these circumstances does not have the right to address the Board.

Process

  1. When a possible or actual conflict of interest exists, the Chair and the director with the possible or actual conflict of interest shall consult with legal counsel to ensure that the conflict is being handled in accordance with Section 132 or the Business Corporations Act (Ontario), pursuant to subsection 52(2) of the Legal Aid Services Act, 1998 (Ontario).

  2. When a possible or actual conflict of interest is disclosed or asserted, the directors (other than the director with the possible or actual conflict of interest) shall discuss and determine whether a conflict exists, unless such director withdraws from discussing or voting on the matter.

  3. The directors (other that the director with the possible or actual conflict of interest) may make a recommendation to the director with the possible or actual conflict of interest as to whether they believe it is appropriate for such director to withdraw from discussing or voting on the matter.

  4. The director with an actual or possible conflict of interest shall not be bound by the recommendation of the other directors referred to in the preceding item, but must at all times act in a manner consistent with his or her fiduciary duty to the Corporation.

Record of decision

  1. The minutes shall record the Boards decision and reasons in every instance where a conflict of interest is disclosed or asserted.

Exceptions

  1. Exceptions to this by-law must be passed by the Board and will form an appendix to this by-law.

  2. The Board will consider exceptions to this policy in the following circumstances:

    1. where a conflict exists, but provides minimal or no benefit to the director;
    2. where a conflict exists, but there is an overriding policy reason for tolerating the conflict, including the benefit to the Board of that directors participation in the discussion of the subject which gives rise to the conflict.
  3. The minutes shall record every instance where exceptions are granted under this policy.

General

  1. Directors shall not knowingly take advantage of, or benefit from, information that is obtained in the course of their official duties and responsibilities and that is not generally available to the public.

  2. After leaving office, a director shall not act in such a manner as to take improper advantage of his or her previous position as a director of the Corporation.

Effective Date

  1. Effective date

    This by-law shall come into force on the day it is passed by the Board.

    Passed by the Board this 3rd day of August, 2000.

    Amended by the Board this 15th day of October, 2004

À propos d'Aide juridique Ontario

Règlement administratif N° 2
Règlement administratif portant sur la politique en matière de conflit d’intérêts pour les administrateurs d’Aide juridique Ontario

Règlement administratif portant sur la politique en matière de conflit d’intérêts pour les administrateurs

d'Aide juridique Ontario

(ci-après dénommée la « Société »)

IL EST DÉCRÉTÉ que les dispositions suivantes constituent un règlement administratif de la Société :

Principes

  1. Les administrateurs doivent agir avec honnêteté et selon des normes supérieures en matière d’éthique de façon à préserver et à faire croître la confiance du public dans l’intégrité, l’objectivité et l’impartialité de la Société.

  2. Les administrateurs doivent exercer leurs fonctions officielles et organiser leurs affaires personnelles d’une manière si irréprochable qu’elles puissent résister à l’examen public le plus minutieux. Pour s’acquitter de cette obligation, il ne suffit pas simplement d’observer la loi.

  3. Les administrateurs ne doivent pas conserver d’intérêts personnels — outre ceux autorisés par la présente politique, les lois ou les règlements (y compris le point 5 ci-dessous) — sur lesquels les décisions ou les activités de la Société auxquelles ils participent pourraient avoir une influence quelconque.

  4. Dès leur nomination au conseil d’administration de la Société (le « Conseil »), les administrateurs doivent organiser leurs affaires personnelles de manière à éviter les conflits d’intérêts, à l’exception de ceux autorisés par la présente politique, les lois ou règlements.

  5. Un administrateur ne saurait être considéré comme étant dans une situation de conflit d’intérêts simplement en raison du fait qu’il est membre du conseil d’administration du Barreau du Haut-Canada ou du conseil d’administration d’une clinique juridique communautaire, qu’il accepte des certificats d’aide juridique, ou que l’un des membres de sa famille ou l’un de ses collaborateurs accepte des certificats d’aide juridique.

Communication de la politique

  1. Une copie du présent règlement administratif doit être remise aux administrateurs. Les administrateurs qui siègent au conseil d’administration doivent recevoir une copie du présent règlement administratif immédiatement après que le Conseil l’a adopté. Les administrateurs potentiels doivent le recevoir avant ou au moment de leur nomination.

Définitions

  1. Sauf disposition contraire dans le présent règlement, un conflit d’intérêts existe lorsque les intérêts d’un administrateur ou d’un membre de sa famille ou d’un collaborateur sont susceptibles de porter atteinte ou de sembler compromettre ses décisions ou porter atteinte à sa capacité d’exercer ses fonctions de façon équitable, impartiale et sans parti pris. Ces conflits comprennent des intérêts financiers ou autres, et ne sont pas limités à des situations où un administrateur peut profiter personnellement d’une décision prise par le Conseil. Un conflit d’intérêts comprend les situations suivantes dénommées « Conflits établis par la loi » :

    1. Les situations dans lesquelles le directeur est partie à une opération ou un contrat important ou à un projet d’opération ou de contrat important avec la Société;
    2. Une situation dans laquelle un administrateur est un dirigeant d’un organisme qui est partie à un contrat ou à une opération d’importance en cours ou projeté avec la Société, ou le fait qu’il possède par ailleurs un intérêt important dans une partie à un contrat ou à une opération d’importance en cours ou projeté avec la Société.
  2. Aux fins du présent règlement, le terme « membre de la famille » comprend le conjoint de l’administrateur (y compris les conjoints de fait et les conjoints de même sexe) ainsi que les parents de l’administrateur, ses grands-parents, enfants, frères ou sœurs, ou le conjoint de l’une de ces personnes.

Divulgation

  1. Si un administrateur constate qu’il se trouve en situation de conflit d’intérêts concernant une question soulevée devant le Conseil, il doit fournir un avis de conflit d’intérêts, soit en révélant la nature et l’ampleur du conflit d’intérêts par écrit à la Société ou en demandant à ce que la nature et l’étendue du conflit d’intérêts soient inscrites dans le procès-verbal de la réunion du Conseil.

  2. Un administrateur doit divulguer la nature et l’étendue de tout conflit établi par la loi :

    1. Lors de la réunion du Conseil durant laquelle le point donnant lieu au conflit d’intérêts est abordé;
    2. Si le conflit d’intérêts n’existait pas à ce moment-là, à la première réunion du Conseil après l’apparition du conflit d’intérêts;
    3. Si le conflit d’intérêts survient après la conclusion du contrat ou de la transaction, à la première réunion du Conseil après l’apparition du conflit d’intérêts;
    4. Si une personne qui a un conflit d’intérêts devient administrateur, à la première réunion du Conseil après sa nomination.
  3. Un administrateur doit divulguer tout conflit d’intérêts autre qu’un conflit établi par la loi au Conseil dès qu’il en prend connaissance.

  4. Si l’élément donnant lieu à un conflit d’intérêts ne nécessite pas l’approbation du Conseil, l’administrateur doit indiquer la nature et l’étendue du conflit d’intérêts immédiatement après qu’il prend connaissance de son existence.

  5. Une personne autre qu’un administrateur peut déclarer que l’administrateur a un conflit d’intérêts concernant un élément présenté devant le Conseil si cette déclaration est effectuée par écrit à l’attention du président du Conseil avant la réunion durant laquelle l’élément fera l’objet d’une discussion. Dans ces circonstances, la personne autre qu’un administrateur qui déclare un conflit d’intérêts n’a pas le droit de s’adresser au Conseil.

Processus

  1. Quand un conflit d’intérêts potentiel ou réel existe, le président et l’administrateur qui fait face à ce conflit d’intérêts potentiel ou réel doivent consulter un avocat pour garantir que le conflit est traité conformément à l’article 132 de la Loi sur les sociétés par actions (Ontario), en vertu du paragraphe 52 (2) de la Loi sur les services d’aide juridique, 1998 (Ontario).

  2. Quand un conflit d’intérêts potentiel ou réel est divulgué ou déclaré, les administrateurs (autres que celui qui fait face au conflit d’intérêts potentiel ou réel) doivent discuter et déterminer s’il existe un conflit, à moins que cet administrateur ne se retire des discussions ou ne s’abstienne de voter sur cet élément.

  3. Les administrateurs (autres que celui qui fait face au conflit d’intérêts potentiel ou réel) peuvent formuler une recommandation à l’administrateur qui fait face au conflit d’intérêts potentiel ou réel concernant leur avis sur la pertinence de son retrait des discussions et de son abstention du vote concernant cet élément.

  4. L’administrateur qui fait face au conflit d’intérêts potentiel ou réel ne sera pas lié par la recommandation des autres administrateurs visés au point précédent, mais doit en tout temps agir de façon compatible avec son obligation fiduciaire envers la Société.

Compte rendu de décisions

  1. Les procès-verbaux doivent rendre compte des décisions et des motifs du Conseil dans tous les cas où un conflit d’intérêts est divulgué ou déclaré.

Exceptions

  1. Les exceptions à ce règlement doivent être adoptées par le Conseil et seront annexées au présent règlement.

  2. Le Conseil examinera les exceptions à cette politique dans les circonstances suivantes :

    1. Lorsqu’il existe un conflit d’intérêts qui offre peu ou pas d’avantages pour l’administrateur;
    2. Lorsqu’il existe un conflit d’intérêts pour lequel il y a des motifs impérieux en matière de politiques de le tolérer, notamment si le Conseil voit un intérêt à ce que l’administrateur participe à la discussion du sujet qui donne lieu à un conflit.
  3. Le procès-verbal doit faire état de toutes les situations au cours desquelles des exceptions ont été accordées en vertu de cette politique.

Général

  1. Il est interdit aux administrateurs de retirer un avantage ou de bénéficier des renseignements obtenus dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions officielles qui, de façon générale, ne sont pas accessibles au public.

  2. Après avoir quitté le Conseil, les administrateurs doivent se comporter de façon à ne pas tirer d’avantages indus de leurs fonctions antérieures en qualité d’administrateurs de la Société.

Date d’entrée en vigueur

  1. Date d’entrée en vigueur

    Le présent règlement entre en vigueur le jour où il est adopté par le Conseil.

    Adopté par le Conseil le 3e jour d’août 2000.

    Modifié par le Conseil le 15e jour d’octobre 2004